Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?

Old 10-24-2010, 06:06 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Glen B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fort Erie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,362
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?

I wondered if anyone has installed one of these in a HL Stug III to set it up for Taqmiya compatible IR and if so, how did it work out?

I am looking for any insights or cautions with respect to the application specifically for the HL Stug III, not any other models, since I already havea Stugand am instested in the installation for it.
Old 10-24-2010, 07:45 PM
  #2  
YHR
Senior Member
 
YHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grande Prairie, AB, CANADA
Posts: 8,976
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?

I have this set up in a Stug. It is a tight fit. Here is a Panzer 3 with a DBC in it. Same basic layout you would need with a stug.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo41042.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	1522477  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:59 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
 
Glen B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fort Erie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,362
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?


ORIGINAL: YHR

I have this set up in a Stug. It is a tight fit. Here is a Panzer 3 with a DBC in it. Same basic layout you would need with a stug.

Thanks, so it'stight, but it does fit, that's good.

How about the mod.'s to the Stug's mantlet to install the light system (the proper term for it escapes me )
Old 10-24-2010, 08:05 PM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Peterborough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,146
Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts
Default RE: DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?

I don't have a Stug, but I do have a very similar SU-76i conversion running a DBCRC2 combat system. The only caution with that set up is to use a HL elevation motor in place of a servo for gun elevation, so that the control board see's the elevation / machine gun / main gun fire signals. You can use a servo plugged directly into the receiver for gun traverse, as the control board does not need to see that signal for its operation.


If you rip out the smoker you will have plenty of room for the DBC(RC2) board. The IR LED should fit in place of the HL one (the LED's emit different wavelengths, so don't use the factory one), you should make a emitter tube to avoid friendly fire tho - see the other thread for tips.
Old 10-24-2010, 08:16 PM
  #5  
Thread Starter
 
Glen B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fort Erie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,362
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DBC/DBU and HL Stug III?


ORIGINAL: Ex_Pat_Tanker
If you rip out the smoker you will have plenty of room for the DBC(RC2) board.
Thanks, yeah, the smokers dont work very well and they aren't a bigfeature for me, anyway, so it definitely could come out of mine.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.