Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

I ordered the mostly metal Taigen Imex Tiger ! (early) and have some questions..

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

I ordered the mostly metal Taigen Imex Tiger ! (early) and have some questions..

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2014, 11:38 AM
provopaul

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I ordered the mostly metal Taigen Imex Tiger ! (early) and have some questions..

Hi there,
I'm looking forward to getting this and was wondering what upgrades you think I might need. I've purchased the IR version - I just love the gun recoil on this version. I plan on playing with this with my grandchildren and perhaps getting another so we can have battles. I''ve done r/c before (1/200 Yamato & 1/72 Mk VII U-boat) so I have some experience. Will this tank run ok on the lawn, or do I need to upgrade the motors? How about a battery upgrade - where to get these items would be appreciated. Also how long can I expect the gears to last? I understand they aren't the best quality.
I've also done a lot of modeling & have a website:

www.bishophobbies.com

Any advice or help is greatly appreciated,
Paul
Old 06-17-2014, 12:00 PM
ausf

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hey Paul, Welcome to the hobby!

If you can pull off a Type VII, you will have no trouble here.

I'm sure you have a good charger, if not that and a battery or two would be the only thing I recommend off the bat. These run on 7.2, so any NiMH in the 3000-5000 mAh range (or NiCad in lower is fine) would give you plenty of drive time.