Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Barn find rc King Tiger

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2018, 03:56 PM
Asymair95

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Barn find rc King Tiger

First time poster with an interesting story. When I was around 13 or 14 I received a Tamiya King Tiger rc kit for Christmas. I was an avid model builder, and this was the next step up for me in the hobby. I really enjoyed assembling the kit and drove it for several weeks before the gearbox failed. I remember being devastated, and tried frantically to repair it, but it was useless. After that it became a static model on a shelf in my room. After graduating school I joined the military and moved away for 28 years. Today my Dad was cleaning out the top of a dusty closet and came across a non descriptive cardboard box...with my King Tiger in it! My parents had saved it for me because they knew how much work I had put into it, and how much I loved it.

Now for some pics

(Oops, it wouldn’t let me post them till I have 10 posts on here.)

My goal is to get this old warhorse back into shape as a dependable driver. I have many questions though.

- Is there a wiki thread somewhere on rebuilding/ modernizing/ repairing this model of King Tiger?
- Are there any aftermarket parts suppliers for these as far as scale accessories and electronics?
- Is the gearbox repairable or is there a suitable replacement?
- What are required upgrades for this year model to make it dependable? I’m not worried about keeping it stock, I want to drive it again.

Thank you for any help you can give me. Joe
Old 04-08-2018, 04:23 PM
trackmech81

Welcome aboard. If you get back into this be warned, it is addictive .
Old 04-08-2018, 09:02 PM
sevoblast

Received 54 Likes on 40 Posts

Originally Posted by Asymair95