Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

My Panzer IV

Old 01-17-2019, 01:44 AM
  #1  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default My Panzer IV

Hi everybody, today Id like to show you my Panzer IV. I have not finished it, it still needs weathering and so on, but so far im happy with it.
It is a Tamiya Panzer IV, and I put some extra things on it, like:
Ball bearings in the wheels.
The return rollers are made of steel.
The elevation arm has been replaced with a metal arm. (But both elevation and recoil units will be replaced with servo units soon)
Gearbox aluminium mount plate.
Working turret machine gun and lights.
Smoke machine, and smoke in the exhaust, like the real thing.
Some more details here and there, like handmade zimmerit.
And most important, tamiya electronics to the bin and replaced with some aftermarket ones.

Im quite happy with the paint, even when it is not historically accurate, what it counts is that I like it, and makes my toy a bit more unique. Everything has been painted by me (turret numbers and figures too) Hope you like it.
And now some photos:





Last edited by Rad_Schuhart; 01-17-2019 at 02:22 AM.
Old 01-17-2019, 01:46 AM
  #2  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default







Old 01-17-2019, 05:32 AM
  #3  
Shorty54
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 484
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Very well done Rad! I really like the looks of the Panzer IV.
The only problem I see with it is, its not on my shelf!
Great Job!

Enjoy,
Shad
Old 01-17-2019, 05:49 AM
  #4  
ThurmanMerman'sSherman
 
ThurmanMerman'sSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow, that's a beautifully painted machine! You did an amazing job painting up the soldiers as well!
Old 01-17-2019, 10:22 AM
  #5  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. I have to take better photos that will make more justice.


This weekend I have a tank event, so I expect to take photos in a scale battlefield and so on









Last edited by Rad_Schuhart; 01-17-2019 at 11:56 AM.
Old 01-17-2019, 03:28 PM
  #6  
Pah co chu puk
 
Pah co chu puk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgway, CO
Posts: 3,040
Received 57 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

WOW! That rocks! Uber nice. From the fine details on the panzergranaders hats, all the way to the whole tank paint job, it is wonderfully done. Be proud of that.
Old 01-17-2019, 08:21 PM
  #7  
jarndice
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hemel Hempstead,Hertfordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 778
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

From one lover of the Panzer 4 to another that is superb,
I am green with envy.
Shaun.
Old 01-18-2019, 05:28 AM
  #8  
mcovalsk
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Very nice Rad!
Usually I don't like the human figures, but these ones really do the job.
I hope you use the radio recommended by Tamiya in other way will not work

Last edited by mcovalsk; 01-18-2019 at 10:13 AM.
Old 01-18-2019, 12:57 PM
  #9  
RC_BobM
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 407
Likes: 0
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Nice panzer 4. I like the figures. They really add a lot of detail.

As for the Tamiya electronics: "And most important, tamiya electronics to the bin and replaced with some aftermarket ones." - what did you replace them with? I'd take them off your hands if you don't want them!

Bob
Old 01-19-2019, 09:24 AM
  #10  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Thanks everybody for your comments. If somebody has any question Im here.

@mcovalsk, LOL!!!

@Bob, I replaced the electronics with an elmod fusion pro, but I might replace them with a newer clark or with the ASP3 when available. The tamiya electronics are sold, but I think I still have some new in the box sherman electronics. If interested, let me know!
Old 01-19-2019, 09:27 AM
  #11  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default







Old 01-19-2019, 09:28 AM
  #12  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I had a tank event in Viena today. The Sherman is also mine
Old 01-20-2019, 01:37 AM
  #13  
Strato50
 
Strato50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,422
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

The figures really bring out the whole look, I like it a lot. You lose sight of how big / small these vehicles can be sometimes :P
Old 02-06-2019, 07:01 AM
  #14  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Fresh made video. All the sounds-music are from the tank, not post processing or edition!

Old 02-06-2019, 07:09 AM
  #15  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default




Old 02-07-2019, 05:27 PM
  #16  
larryzhou
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

super!!
Old 04-09-2019, 11:24 PM
  #17  
Rad_Schuhart
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Graz, Austria.
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Hi guys, I did a couple of videos that some of you might find interesting.

With Tamiya and most of the aftermarket boards you have to use sticks and trims for triggering the extra functions. I find it extremely annoying, and also is like going to a friend's barbecue and asking for a salad, so I did a couple of small videos of how to short it out.

In the video I am using an Elmod fusion pro. For triggering the extra sounds, the manual expect you to flick one switch in one position, and then to move the turret stick to some other positions... IMHO this is plain stupid, so I programmed the radio for triggering all the functions with just push buttons or switches.

You can asign ANY switch of your radio to ANY fuction. And also this will work with any board. Now my stick is free, and it will be only used for moving the turret and elevating the cannon. No more unwanted shoots or silly ninja combinations.



Last edited by Rad_Schuhart; 04-09-2019 at 11:28 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.