Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Help with Tamiya Pershing

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Help with Tamiya Pershing

Old 10-25-2020, 07:23 AM
VPaladin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Tamiya Pershing

Hi, I am new to RC. I have a Finespec 2.4G Transmitter set to Tank A and an M26 Pershing T26E3. I cannot get any of the 10 function buttons to work. Using the trim, joystick method I can get the Main gun to fire once in a blue moon, but never the machine gun or other functions, lights etc. Also is there a way to put the tank fwd/back and turn on one joystick abd the current rotation barrel up and down on the other?
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Old 10-25-2020, 09:16 AM
Ex_Pat_Tanker

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

The Tamiya DMD only uses the 2 sticks, your 10 extra buttons have no function (unless you want to connect additional devices to your receiver). To get a Tamiya to function like a Heng Long you simply swap the plugs for turret traverse and steering around in the receiver.
Old 10-25-2020, 10:04 AM
Jeff489
My Feedback: (12)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The Finespec radio is really designed for the modern Tamiya tanks such as the M1 Abrams, Type 10, Leopard 2a6 or Sheridan which all have enhanced features built in to their stock electronics.

The Finespec radio buttons are pre-programmed for specific functions by Tamiya, albeit for the modern tanks. Since the Pershing isn't a modern tank, I think it may be likely one can adapt the radio to fire your cannon and mg with a bit of effort. I suggest you review this excellent video on the Finespec radio by user "PitStain" here.