Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

1:16 Scale Motor / Battery Currents?

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

1:16 Scale Motor / Battery Currents?

Old 03-21-2023, 12:28 AM
  #1  
Durahl
Thread Starter
 
Durahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nearby, on an astronomical scale.
Posts: 168
Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Question 1:16 Scale Motor / Battery Currents?

I'm planning on equipping more of my Tanks with 360° Slip Rings like I've already done on my Tamiya #36208 Gepard 1A2.

Most of the Tanks will be fairly straight forward as their Controllers will remain in the Chassis thus requiring only low current Connections to the Turrets in what I assume to be sub 2A rating...

Now as for my E-100 that is a bit of a different story as I'm playing with the idea of going full Tamiya Leopard 2A6 with relocating the Controller into the Turret which would necessitate a Higher Current Slip Ring.
Anyone having any experience in how high those currents can go for a 1:16 scale Model about 6kg in weight and using Tamiya Gearboxes ( the ones found in the likes of a King Tiger, Pershing, KV-2 )?

The Slip Rings that I'm considering are technically only rated for 2A per Channel, but I could make up for the lack in Amp Rating with a high Channel count pairing 2 Channels together for a Motor Connection and 3-4 Channels for a Battery one.
All in all, I'd be needing a 24 Channel Slip Ring with like 14 Channels going into the Motor / Battery Connections with the remaining ones available for the Turret Servo, LEDs and Speaker.

So, yea... Do 4A per Motor Lead and 6-8A per Battery Lead sound sufficient for these kinds of Models? 🤔🤨
Old 03-21-2023, 02:38 AM
  #2  
Delta_19
Junior Member
 
Delta_19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Durahl
I'm planning on equipping more of my Tanks with 360° Slip Rings like I've already done on my

Most of the Tanks will be fairly straight forward as their Controllers will remain in the Chassis thus requiring only low current Connections to the Turrets in what I assume to be sub 2A rating...

Now as for my E-100 that is a bit of a different story as I'm playing with the idea of going full Tamiya Leopard 2A6 with relocating the Controller into the Turret which would necessitate a Higher Current Slip Ring.
Anyone having any experience in how high those currents can go for a 1:16 scale Model about 6kg in weight and using Tamiya Gearboxes ( )?

The Slip Rings that I'm considering are technically only rated for 2A per Channel, but I could make up for the lack in Amp Rating with a high Channel count pairing 2 Channels together for a Motor Connection and 3-4 Channels for a Battery one.
All in all, I'd be needing a 24 Channel Slip Ring with like 14 Channels going into the Motor / Battery Connections with the remaining ones available for the Turret Servo, LEDs and Speaker.

So, yea... Do 4A per Motor Lead and 6-8A per Battery Lead sound sufficient for these kinds of Models? 🤔🤨

so just tested my heng long tiger and sherman by driving them on hardwood against my foot.

both drew a max of about 3.0-3.1A peak but, being hard wood and easy for the tanks to slide on and the tanks only being about 2.5-3KG with their metal tracks I wouldn't be surprised to see your tank draw more. and even if it didn't a 1-.9A buffer is kinda slim in my opinion.

So in short you could do this but I would increase the wire count per circuit.


Old 03-21-2023, 02:53 AM
  #3  
tankme
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Elgin, TX
Posts: 1,507
Received 210 Likes on 172 Posts
Default

They make slip rings with some small gauge wire and some larger gauge wire. This one is sold out, but it has (4) 10A wires and (12) 2A wires in the same ring. Stanley might be able to point you in the right direction as to where he found it.

https://www.rctanklegion.com/product...0a-12-wires-2a

Derek
Old 03-21-2023, 03:20 AM
  #4  
lposter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 934
Likes: 0
Received 152 Likes on 88 Posts
Default

FORGET THIS!! I see its turret ring current you want!

Aplogies for being hastyˇ!!!!!!!!. I'll just get me coat.....

You cant go wrong with this calculator:

https://community.robotshop.com/blog...or-sizing-tool

Once you enter all your data....and all of it is easy to find...you end up with a max current draw and other useful data.

Then just size your cables appropriately.

P
Old 03-21-2023, 04:40 AM
  #5  
Durahl
Thread Starter
 
Durahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nearby, on an astronomical scale.
Posts: 168
Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Delta_19
So in short you could do this but I would increase the wire count per circuit.
There don't appear to be models with Channel Counts higher than 24 that would still fit into the allocated space.

Originally Posted by tankme
They make slip rings with some small gauge wire and some larger gauge wire.
I already have one of them lying around for my Leopard 2A6 but unfortunately, I'd be needing 6 of the thick cables ( 2x2 for the Motors and 2 for the Battery ) for my E-100 🤔

Originally Posted by lposter
You cant go wrong with this calculator: https://community.robotshop.com/blog...or-sizing-tool
Punched in some guesswork numbers and arrived at 6A until I realized that I still had one of those RC Amp Meters somewhere lying around from my UAV days and gave it a run over the carpet attempting to do a 360° on the dime... Currents momentarily spiked up to 8A so yea... I'm working without any headroom, I guess? 😑
Old 03-21-2023, 01:24 PM
  #6  
tankme
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Elgin, TX
Posts: 1,507
Received 210 Likes on 172 Posts
Default

If you are working without headroom you can add fuses or circuit breakers to limit the current. That's what I do on my 1/6th scale tanks as some of those motors can draw over 100A at stall. I put a breaker on each motor limiting them to 50A as my ESC is rated for 60A continuous. The ESC can handle more, but I wanted to go conservative for my batteries.

Derek
Old 03-25-2023, 09:12 PM
  #7  
Shagnifico
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: san antonio, TX
Posts: 367
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I do mostly modern tanks. Modern tanks have so much going on in the turret that it can be a challenge just finding a slip ring with enough wires. Smoke heater, smoke fan, main gun elevation, main gun traverse, mg elevation, mg traverse, commander’s sight rotation, main gun recoil, ir battle system, gyro stabilization. All the LEDs..

Super tedious to wire up all that crap. And slip rings wear out, wiring gets chewed up. The last slip ring I bought had 32 wires and I could’ve used more. I swore off slip rings. I’m going wireless in my okmo m60 with Beier usm-rc and Bluetooth module in the turret. Not as inexpensive as a slip ring but I value my sanity.

There’s also the option of using a separate receiver and battery in the turret bound to external transmitter module. Using the hull rx bound to internal rf for the first four channels. But I haven’t tried this method.
Old 03-30-2023, 01:00 PM
  #8  
heavyaslead
 
heavyaslead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 1,913
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

After burning out my slip ring on my Maus years ago, I found a more robust slip ring on Ebay that supports up to 6 amps per circuit

This is the model I used

Blue 6 Wires 12.7MM Diameter 380V 10A Metal Via Hole Capsule Slip Ring

https://www.ebay.com/itm/165740327374?_trkparms=amclksrc%3DITM%26aid%3D1110 006%26algo%3DHOMESPLICE.SIM%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D24741 6%26meid%3Dc7432ab5d1f540f39efe2705b9be413d%26pid% 3D101195%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D12%26sd%3D264396914799%2 6itm%3D165740327374%26pmt%3D1%26noa%3D0%26pg%3D204 7675%26algv%3DSimplAMLv11WebTrimmedV3MskuWithLambd a85KnnRecallV1V4V6ItemNrtInQueryAndCassiniVisualRa nkerAndBertRecall%26brand%3DUnbranded&_trksid=p2047675.c101195.m1851&amdata=cksum%3A165740327374c7432ab5d1f540f39efe270 5b9be413d%7Cenc%3AAQAHAAABYBEC%252B8HimpTF6XPanG8l CeF3G6jifrewDlLoKJMPz0RnJH8s%252BUBlIo2cSQSdgSGvSV vCKC6zF4X6tOnQIr392G0gldH8QjhGQ2fmdEokLVFt29UKj%25 2FEph29NUO0KxqhEb84gZhbKWlWfbravBJF8o5IEd9HpxtKmVD LAb%252FkSGVQRBKqmWJRGo%252Fo079Ij7sYoyTM9aEK70BLn tDlJUs4BQmu6JFZMB7GNUo%252F4xt9KW02CwepJZzsg46OKlu S8s6sZg8WWlRl6llFFdBDEpYEDrymbI5pNmghRPHNEcn6VaQ9m isQ3O%252FZcxaLHMucbUW%252B88rpO1k4qfFF51LD14GYU5z 5%252FOA8ZWbxtB%252Bxir4WMx3orW1a1BziCGW9I9IQMRBSv EWDse9sZ7LeFHuRrPAw%252BU2ti3XMGVVqlA5FzgxN2mIkkwR 19t0bTONrYgg%252BCLwVmIWd9i%252FSVVpzTMJy8iLuFYIs% 253D%7Campid%3APL_CLK%7Cclp%3A2047675&epid=883214540

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.