Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Tamiya Battle System?

Old 03-23-2023, 10:35 AM
  #1  
Durahl
Thread Starter
 
Durahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nearby, on an astronomical scale.
Posts: 168
Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Question Tamiya Battle System?

So I finally caved in and got myself a Tamiya Battle System...

...but I'm not quite getting the results I was expecting... At least not on my #56020 Leopard 2A6 which is kinda my prime candidate to run it on.

At first I tried shooting myself via reflecting off a Piece of white Paper ( like described in the TBS's Manual ), then off a CD acting as a Mirror, then by taking the Receiver and placing it directly in front of the LED, then by dismantling the Mushroom and pointing the LED into the Cavity - Nuffin...

So I took my iPhone and used it to check if the IR LED was working which it was... I then took the Receiver off the Leopard 2A6 and hooked it to my #56018 King Tiger shooting it with the Leopard 2A6.
Every full Moon or so it would register a hit having the LED's flash and the KTigers Sound change.

Did the whole thing in reverse connecting the Receiver to the L2A6 with the KTiger now shooting it - Nuffin again.

Question:
a) The TBS Manual references the #56010 Tiger when shooting itself for testing requiring a pair of Switches used for designating the Weight of the Tank to be set to "Test" Mode which the Leopard 2A6 doesn't have - Is this perhaps the cause why it can't shoot itself?
b) Is every shot supposed to register or is there like an invincibility timeframe after a hit where shots do not register?
c) Am I possibly looking at a "TBS faulty" but otherwise still functioning Leopard 2A6 DMD T-07 or is there perhaps a Setting to be enabled I'm not familiar with?
Old 03-23-2023, 11:59 AM
  #2  
RichJohnson
 
RichJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,815
Received 379 Likes on 240 Posts
Default

The Tamiya tanks cannot shoot themselves unless they are in test mode. That is intentional

the Tamiya apple has 45 degree angles of deflection. So you need to make sure you have it oriented like the manual shows. Usually always make the little half circle face the right side of the tank

how are you testing the tanks together ? Typically I think Tamiya tanks have to have the apple plugged in to enable the battle system.

Old 03-23-2023, 12:33 PM
  #3  
Pah co chu puk
 
Pah co chu puk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgway, CO
Posts: 3,231
Received 143 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

The Leopard will shoot it's self when it is set to the "test mode" as described in the manual. The apple does need to be plugged in to have the IR LED flash. It should register every hit. If the Leopard is moving when it is shot, it will stop for a second, and then resume moving.
Old 03-24-2023, 04:21 AM
  #4  
Durahl
Thread Starter
 
Durahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nearby, on an astronomical scale.
Posts: 168
Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RichJohnson
The Tamiya tanks cannot shoot themselves unless they are in test mode. That is intentional
Originally Posted by Pah co chu puk
The Leopard will shoot it's self when it is set to the "test mode" as described in the manual.
How does one access the Test Mode with the Leopard 2A6? Unlike the older 2-part DMD/MF Combos utilizing a double 2-Way Switch granting 4 Modes ( Light, Medium, Heavy, and Test ) the Leopard 2A6 sports only a single 3-Way Switch granting 3 Modes ( Light, Medium, and Heavy )

Originally Posted by RichJohnson
the Tamiya apple has 45 degree angles of deflection. So you need to make sure you have it oriented like the manual shows. Usually always make the little half circle face the right side of the tank
Like I said... I even tested it with shining the IR-Blaster straight into the Cavity of the Apple ( Fin Stack and Top removed ) which should have ignored any and all Orientation related issues..

Originally Posted by RichJohnson
Typically I think Tamiya tanks have to have the apple plugged in to enable the battle system.
Originally Posted by Pah co chu puk
The apple does need to be plugged in to have the IR LED flash.
Apparently not as having the Leopard 2A6 ( equipped with the IR-Blaster ) shoot the King Tiger ( equipped with the IR-Receiver ) would at least occasionally register a hit - Kinda a hit or miss affair though /slaps thigh 🤣
Old 03-24-2023, 04:37 AM
  #5  
Pah co chu puk
 
Pah co chu puk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgway, CO
Posts: 3,231
Received 143 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

the info you need is here...

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/19...page=17#manual
Old 03-24-2023, 10:44 AM
  #6  
Jeff489
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,328
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

You might consider getting a handheld IR tester. Does Tamiya, Clark and HL IR systems. Found here, they are pretty nifty and make checking an IR system a breeze.
Old 03-24-2023, 12:03 PM
  #7  
Pah co chu puk
 
Pah co chu puk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ridgway, CO
Posts: 3,231
Received 143 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

Or this one...

Infrared Target T1

https://rctankhobby.com/html/products.html
Old 03-24-2023, 08:22 PM
  #8  
cleong
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,005
Received 78 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

The Leopard 2A6 will fire IR beams without an IR receiver/apple installed.

The King Tiger (and other WW2 tanks) will not fire IR beams if the TBU is not installed.

You can also try any regular tv remote at home if you just want to check that your tanks are receiving hits. Keep pressing random buttons till you find which are sending signals that the TBU can read.

The Leopard has a quirky behaviour that it freezes after getting hit - you can't move but you can't immediately get hit again until you regain movement. Savvy opponents will hold their shot to make sure you're moving before shooting you again, and a well coordinated pair or trio of tanks can effectively permatrack a Leopard to death.
Old 03-25-2023, 12:49 AM
  #9  
Durahl
Thread Starter
 
Durahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nearby, on an astronomical scale.
Posts: 168
Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Pah co chu puk
Obviously the one place I didn't look for...
Click image for larger version

Name:	zLDSEXR.gif
Views:	111
Size:	1.69 MB
ID:	2272647
TBS seems to be working properly during testing - Every Shot registered.

Thanks to everyone pitching in solving this problem 😁
The following users liked this post:
RichJohnson (03-25-2023)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.