Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

Old 05-23-2007, 05:47 AM
  #1  
b.bullfrog
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: jacksonville, FL
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

Just curious if anyone has tried lipos in there Tamiya tanks? Since Team Orion/Peak have 3200 and 4800 that work in R/C cars just wondering if anyone has tried them in the tanks?
Old 05-23-2007, 07:37 AM
  #2  
shenlonco
My Feedback: (2)
 
shenlonco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: prospect park, NJ
Posts: 4,722
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

They should work fine....they are really light though..may make your tank turn better with less strain on the tracks and gears though.
Old 05-23-2007, 01:56 PM
  #3  
hobbimaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: west palm beach, FL
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

I have both a 3200/4800, havent tried it in my tank but should work. My only concern would be voltage cut-off. It would be hard to tell when its getting low to stop the tank before battery destruction. I guess you could get a cut-off device or something too.
Old 05-23-2007, 06:01 PM
  #4  
The_Stuff
Senior Member
 
The_Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Energy Capital, SK, CANADA
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

ya there is cut offs in the esc's for the on road cars etc that use lipo's. just need to find an external one. if its narrow enough it might even fit in the battery compartment.... wait they are wider arnt they?
Old 05-23-2007, 07:21 PM
  #5  
FFR2608
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone tried Lipo's yet?

I have used a 2 cell 1500MAH LIPO in my AEC. Yes, It ran the full Tamiya DMD and MFU. No problems.
Each cell is approximately 3.6 volts so stay away from the 3 cell variety. (11.1 volts) 2 cell only......
DH
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30715.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	690244  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.