Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

main power switch on a HL Tiger

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

main power switch on a HL Tiger

Old 02-14-2008, 04:07 PM
  #1  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default main power switch on a HL Tiger

I have moved the main power switch in to the loaders hatch,
here are some shots of some of the process
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87566.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	878556   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34029.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	878557   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xd81082.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	878558   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wq43742.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	878559   Click image for larger version

Name:	Am73551.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	878560  
Old 02-14-2008, 04:13 PM
  #2  
fv432
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

Nice job BREL keep us posted
Old 02-14-2008, 04:27 PM
  #3  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

thanks, the reason I moved the main switch is I was getting peed off at having to turn the tank over every time I wanted to turn it on and off. I am also thinking about putting a charging circuit in, under one of the front hatches but need to get the hatches. I might put the other two switches there or under the loaders hatch in the turret, I will have to make my mind up.
Old 02-14-2008, 04:33 PM
  #4  
fv432
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

have you thought about making the rear engine hatches operable as it's easier to put everything there?
Old 02-14-2008, 04:40 PM
  #5  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

ORIGINAL: fv432

have you thought about making the rear engine hatches operable as it's easier to put everything there?
No I have not, OMG it goes from one modification to another Heeeeelllllllppppp ROFLMAO

thanks for the idea now just got to get the parts for the engine hatches and other hatches and and and and and and and other stuff ROFLMAO
Old 02-14-2008, 04:49 PM
  #6  
fv432
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

now what you mean mate
The rear hatches are quite simple just cut them out using the "thread saw" method and re-attach using a hinge of whatever you have to make it work i used a piece of evergreen tubing cut to size and glued to the door and an old rivet tail to use as the bar
Old 02-14-2008, 07:21 PM
  #7  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch


ORIGINAL: fv432
"thread saw" method
Never heard of this method before can some one explain please. I thought fv432 meant fret saw method. Oi must be fick Miss Dianne
Old 02-15-2008, 03:08 AM
  #8  
borealis
 
borealis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Paolo Solbrito, ITALY
Posts: 1,522
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

Using the front hull or the rear motor hatches is better for the power switch: since the turret rotates it could intefere with the additional wires.
Old 02-15-2008, 10:06 AM
  #9  
sfstu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: feltham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 138
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

hi brel..re:thread saw method, you drill tiny hole and use thread (cotton is pref i think) to act as a saw.. when you pull the thread up and down with a sawing motion it slowly cuts through the plastic.. not tried it myself yet but somebody posted a link to a youtube video demonstrating the method..there was a link in the faq section to it i think..
good luck..! rgds stuart
Old 02-16-2008, 01:58 PM
  #10  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch


ORIGINAL: borealis

Using the front hull or the rear motor hatches is better for the power switch: since the turret rotates it could interfere with the additional wires.
I have put the main power switch in to the turret under the loaders hatch, but can't make up my mind as to where to put the smoke switch and sound control knob
Old 02-19-2008, 05:59 PM
  #11  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

I have sealed up the holes in the bottom of the Hull with epoxy resin, now all I have to do is decide what I am going to do with the switch for the smoke unit and the sound pot
Old 02-19-2008, 06:03 PM
  #12  
fv432
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: swindon, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

You done those rear engine grills yet mate

here's a link to my build a couple of posts down and there is some pics of the grills
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_64...2Cbuild/tm.htm
Old 02-19-2008, 06:11 PM
  #13  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

ORIGINAL: fv432

YOU DONE THOSE REAR ENGINE GRILLS YET MATE
not yet no, I am thinking that I am going put the smoke switch just under the rear deck so that it just pokes out of the over scale grills and the sound pot will go just under the deck so that I can get to it with a jewelers screwdriver, well that's the plan for now, but it could change. I will keep you posted if I remember to take some photos.
Old 02-20-2008, 02:29 AM
  #14  
borealis
 
borealis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Paolo Solbrito, ITALY
Posts: 1,522
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

Here is where I put my volume knob:

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91134.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	883715  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:31 AM
  #15  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

Borealis, Nice looking tank. I thought about that location and decide against it because I am trying to seal the lower hull so the electrics are kept dry if I wade through water with the tank.
Old 02-20-2008, 02:21 PM
  #16  
brel
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stone Staffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: main power switch

just an update moved the smoke switch and sound pot to the rear of the tank and have put them under the rear deck so that I can get to them with a small screwdriver to adjust the sound level and turn the smoker on and off
the last picture show the underside of the hull where I have sealed the holes where the switches were with epoxy resin (araldite)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45751.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	80.8 KB
ID:	883956   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw72075.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	883957   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb75100.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	883958   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vp40204.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	82.5 KB
ID:	883959   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29067.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	883960   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74999.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	883961  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.