RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Tanks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/)
-   -   New guy needs help with Heng Long tanks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/11611348-new-guy-needs-help-heng-long-tanks.html)

Kanyhalos 01-01-2015 10:27 AM

New guy needs help with Heng Long tanks

Dear Forum members,

I am new to RC tanks and to this forum as well. I've got some experience with 1:72 static model tanks (Dragon, Italeri, Revell, Trumpeter etc.), I have got more then 50 of them.
I'm planning to buy a new 1:16 S&S Heng Long RC tank. I have spent several days on researching and now I'm thinking about buying a Tiger 3818-1 or a Panther G 3879-1 or a King Tiger 3888-1 with no metal upgrades in the beginning, but I can't decide between them.
There are a lot of confusing information in the internet, I would like to ask a couple of questions to make things clear.

Tiger 1 S&S / 3818-1:

I have heard a lot of complaints about this tank, mostly about the tracks that slipping off and purchasing an adjustable tensioner is a must. Is it still true, or did Heng Long fix the track issues in the 3818-1 model?
Do the plastic tracks break on grass terrain, or did they improve it already? As fair as I know, the newest HL tanks (Panther G, Jagdpanther etc.) don't have any problems with plastic tracks as they are stronger then the older tracks.
It is unclear whether the Tiger 3818-1 has RX18 MFU (as far as I know, all S&S models come with RX18), good plastic tracks that don't break or slip off.
Also, I don't understand if this model comes with metal gear as default or this is just a myth.

Panther G S&S / 3879-1:

Everyone says that this is a very good tank, it has RX18, good tracks that don't break or slip off, and is one of the newest the best models of Heng Long. People say it is not even necessary to buy metal tracks on grass terrain if there is no heavy usage. Is this true? Is it really better then the Tiger?