RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Tanks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/)
-   -   Can someone tell me the benefits of a tk22 over standard board? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/11619408-can-someone-tell-me-benefits-tk22-over-standard-board.html)

Scratchwerk 07-09-2015 06:15 PM

Can someone tell me the benefits of a tk22 over standard board?

Hello

I'm new to tanks, but old to RC. Been doing planes and helis. Caught a video on youtube of a 1/6 scale tank and fell in LOVE. I would really, really, really like to have one. But, not unless my imaginary rich uncle dies!

Bought a Taigen scratch and dent Tiger from Eric. Played with it a little, and now I'm looking to upgrade. I want to smooth out operation by using my DX7. Also improve sound. Like the Benedini mini.

Have watched MANY videos on different types of boards. The TK22 is in my price range. Only video that came close to giving enough info was in German.
Can someone tell me all the benefits of the TK22? Also the draw backs.

Thank you.

YHR 07-09-2015 07:47 PM

The TK 22 is complete upgrade board that will replace the Taigen electronics. It has Tamiya style IR battling standard and comes with a decent sound platform. It is not programmable and the engine transitions sounds are a bit canned, but it is low cost. The biggest drawback people have is the fact that the standard format and all the instructions are based on a stick mapping that is not that intuitive. This can be altered, so you can use it like a Tamiya or Heng Long, but once you do this you need to determine exactly what stick input does what.

The Can Am club in Canada has a pile of these in use.

Cheers

strmnd54 07-10-2015 03:24 AM

One of the interesting feature of the TK22 is that you can fully operate your tank with the engine sounds " OFF "; which allows you to use a Benedini TBS mini for better engine sounds...
Many tankers are using the TK22 / TBS mini combo...