RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Tanks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/)
-   -   Newbie here. (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/11640282-newbie-here.html)

Desertrat99 07-13-2017 11:50 AM

Newbie here.

Hi there. Newbie to this hobby. or looking to get into this hobby.

Found this site while searching around for info regarding RC tanks.

I am looking into getting a set of tanks and have been debating between the VS tanks and a set of Taigen tanks with the IR system .

I just cannot afford the Tamiya tanks new, but a fully assembled and RTR one that is used might work for me. I do not have the space or time to build a tank from scratch.

Another company I have found is Taigen and read that they can be modified with some Tamiya parts and circuit boards so you can join a club and battle.

I would like to get 2 tanks and possibly involved in a local club. I love in Los Angeles

THanks Eric

maillemaker 07-13-2017 12:16 PM

I love wherever I can get it. :)

Welcome to RC tanks!

Steve

Shorty54 07-13-2017 02:13 PM

Welcome Eric. You will find more information here than you'll know what to do with!
I have a few VS tanks for sale if you want to take a peek.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/tank...anks-sale.html

Green Amphibian 07-13-2017 04:20 PM

Welcome Eric! The most popular scale of tanks is the 1/16 ones. The others are great things also, but if you want to join a club or group you will find that most are using 1/16. You can modify any tank to use the Tamyia protocol for battling by changing out the electronics and installing a battle unit. To see some battle footage, look for the Danville posts among others.

Herman

Desertrat99 07-13-2017 05:37 PM

Thanks.

I have ben looking around a little bit and it appears that a Taigen tank would be best or a used Tamiya if they can be found. Also found A company called Zheng along but it looks like same company as Taigen?