RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Tanks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/)
-   -   Tank's Steering Movements Controlled by ONE Stick (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-tanks-369/11692908-tanks-steering-movements-controlled-one-stick.html)

Tanker1228 08-27-2021 03:38 AM

Tank's Steering Movements Controlled by ONE Stick

Hi! I am a newbie at rc electronics familiar with the basic functions of transmitters, receivers, esc's, motors, servos, and lipo batteries. I am planning an RC conversion of a 1/35 scale Tiger 1 tank. However, I have one concern that I just couldn’t find the answer to: how can ONE stick of the transmitter control all the steering movements of the tank (e.g the tank’s forward and backward movements are controlled by the left stick’s upwards and downwards movement; the tank spins in place to the right when the transmitter’s left stick is pushed to the right, and the tank spins in place to the left when the transmitter’s left stick is pushed to the left).

Michal_Kaczorowski 08-27-2021 03:47 AM

In case of out-of-the-box RTR "bigger" tanks this is obtained using control boards. Standard is right stick for movement and left for turret opeartions. With aftermarket boards like Elmod you could setup this diferently. For smaller 1/35 tanks you could use this board :(link) P3

BorisS1990 09-02-2021 06:00 PM

RC tanks typically use a different control board from RC cars that allows it to control two motors independently for steering. The tank ends up controlling very similarly to how one would behave in a videogame using a controller.
There are different, less common setups though. Some aftermarket boards allow you to set them up so that each stick controls it's own track. So you would have to push both sticks forward equally to go straight forward.
Tamiya's old 1/35 kits used a single motor, and a clutch on each drive axle to control which track got power.