Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

New to truggies

Old 02-23-2011, 05:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to truggies

Hey guys,

Let me start by saying I'm new to the truggy section, but not really nitros. (About 6 years ago I bought my first T-maxx... Big mistake. I switched to an upgraded Revo later on and had better luck.)

I got out of the hobby at the beginning of 2008, and am now interested in jumping back in. When I left, I had a BB Revo that I liked to race recreationally.

After talking to a few people on the forums, I've decided that a truggy would suit me better than another MT. But I've never really had any experience with one, so I'm going to ask some very newbie questions.

1) What are the competitive chassis setups today? I have heard good things about the 8ight 2.0T, but other than that I'm in the dark.

2) Where is a good forum to learn about these- or is RCU s good place to start? I can tell you a lot about upgrading a Revo, but I'm clueless as to what these truggy's weak points are, so I have much to learn.

3) How much is a basic setup going to cost me? I'm really just dabbling in racing, so I don't feel the need to go all out, but I don't want to cut corners.

Thanks in advance for the help
Old 02-23-2011, 08:20 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: New to truggies

Everything depends on your budget...

If it were me, I'd try to lean to the cheaper side(but still of the "high-end" stuff..), and I would get the following:

1.) Associated RC8T CE edition kit. I like that AE has so many 1/8 cars - lots of parts all over..., and cheap.. The RC8T is a proven winner too..
2.) 2x Hobbico CS-170 servos from Tower(they are identical to the Hitec 5955's/7955's..) Savox would be a slightly cheaper alternative. The Savox website has a deal on right now. 1258 g/b and 1256 steering.