Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

MT4 G3 help!

Old 07-22-2013, 08:43 AM
  #1  
Hungry Arch
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pater, NJ
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MT4 G3 help!

Good day,
Two issues:

1. When I gently roll my MT4G3 on the ground it feels "stuttered" or as though its "binding" - if I push it harder it smooths out. Is this normal?
2. On the very first 4s pack Iran thru it I noticed a pretty significant gear "grinding" during hard accelleration in turns on grass - What am I doing wrong?

thanks guys!
Old 07-22-2013, 09:33 AM
  #2  
Foxy
Senior Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: MT4 G3 help!

1) Normal. It's called cogging, most sets do it at very low speed when they are not sensored, when hot it gets worse. IF its really bad, try to get a video and we'll take a look.

2) Grass is bad. Electric RCs hate grass.

You might have an issue in one of the diffs, its hard to say. I don't know what oil is supplied by default in that truck, but you can improve the drivability of the truck a lot and check the diff internals at the same time when you add diff oils. Put 20k in front, 50k in the center and 10k in the rear. Check the internal gears very carefully, and when placing the diffs back in the housings complete, check for side-to-side wobble, and shim appropriately, being careful not to cause any mesh issue with the diff pinion (input gear).
Old 07-22-2013, 10:06 AM
  #3  
Hungry Arch
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pater, NJ
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MT4 G3 help!

awesome stuff as always Foxy!  thank you!  I've checked out some videos on disassembling and reassembling the diffs - super intimidating. 
Old 07-22-2013, 10:25 AM
  #4  
Foxy
Senior Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: MT4 G3 help!

Its a cakewalk, just messy. Nothing tricky. Use a good allen driver when you disassemble the diffs, the screws are usually stiff and will often round off with cheap tools.
Old 08-01-2013, 01:51 PM
  #5  
Hungry Arch
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pater, NJ
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MT4 G3 help!

So you don't recommend the tools that came with it?
Old 08-12-2013, 07:58 AM
  #6  
BMKTW2
Senior Member
 
BMKTW2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville, FL
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

get some good tools and plan to work on it if you want to use the MT4.
Mine took so many upgrades but the best one is the shock tower brace.
You will bend the chassis without one
Old 08-13-2013, 08:19 AM
  #7  
Foxy
Senior Member
 
Foxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston UK, but living in Athens, GREECE
Posts: 18,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BMKTW2 View Post
get some good tools and plan to work on it if you want to use the MT4.
Mine took so many upgrades but the best one is the shock tower brace.
You will bend the chassis without one
What upgrades have you needed?

And Hungry, yes, good tools are essential. You don't need to spend a lot, but don't use the allen keys that came in the box...

Last edited by Foxy; 08-13-2013 at 09:12 PM.
Old 08-13-2013, 02:58 PM
  #8  
BMKTW2
Senior Member
 
BMKTW2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville, FL
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Foxy View Post
What upgrades have you needed?
Here is my MT4:


Big bore shocks, upgrade shock towers, chassis brace, aluminum diff cups and much more.
These pix are old though, now have a tenshock 1550kv motor and hobbywing esc in it with 6S battery
Old 08-13-2013, 10:38 PM
  #9  
BMKTW2
Senior Member
 
BMKTW2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville, FL
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Tenshock
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04913.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	144.2 KB
ID:	1907849  
Old 08-14-2013, 02:45 AM
  #10  
Hungry Arch
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pater, NJ
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow. That think must RIP! I've seen those chassis braces all over the Internet and heard widely varying opinions. I really don't plan on launching this thing off a cliff. The chassis brace seems like it'd just add unnecessary weight, no? Have the 6s and new motor stressed the diffs and shafts at all? What diff oils do you recommend? I'm almost to the point of wanting to change my diff fluid. I've only run about a dozen packs thru my baby but I want to take hook care of her.
Old 08-14-2013, 02:56 AM
  #11  
Hungry Arch
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pater, NJ
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Foxy, I've already gone out and picked up a new set
Old 08-14-2013, 05:50 AM
  #12  
BMKTW2
Senior Member
 
BMKTW2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville, FL
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hungry Arch View Post
Wow. That think must RIP! I've seen those chassis braces all over the Internet and heard widely varying opinions. I really don't plan on launching this thing off a cliff. The chassis brace seems like it'd just add unnecessary weight, no? Have the 6s and new motor stressed the diffs and shafts at all? What diff oils do you recommend? I'm almost to the point of wanting to change my diff fluid. I've only run about a dozen packs thru my baby but I want to take hook care of her.
The reason for the chassis brace is that the MT4 does not come with any bracing from the factory. It does not take a "launch off a cliff" to bend the chassis.
Old 08-15-2013, 01:33 PM
  #13  
Eman77
Senior Member
 
Eman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 10,314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The chassis brace gets cable-tied to the shock towers? Interesting.
Old 08-15-2013, 02:44 PM
  #14  
BMKTW2
Senior Member
 
BMKTW2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Greenville, FL
Posts: 114
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Eman77 View Post
The chassis brace gets cable-tied to the shock towers? Interesting.
The chassis brace is notched for the shock towers so they mate together. The zip ties only hold the chassis brace down in the groove. The notches in the brace is what does the work.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.