Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 03-07-2008, 08:54 PM
  #3651  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,245
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i changed them because i wanted to see how they were. if it doesn't handle too good, i still got my good ol' stockers in the tool box. plus i have more spring selections with these.
Old 03-07-2008, 09:28 PM
  #3652  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

LOL my dad was the same way when I was younger
lol. ohhh boy was he mad yesterday! i almost hit him w/ the st-1 lol!
Old 03-07-2008, 09:32 PM
  #3653  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 105
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

oh man, the max is now up for sale/trade. That sure didnt take long, only have driven the st-1 twice.
Old 03-07-2008, 09:33 PM
  #3654  
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Then 10 years from now. You say wow. I didn't buy anything except fuel [X(]
Old 03-07-2008, 09:39 PM
  #3655  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 105
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

haha, If I would have stuck with the max, ten years from now I would be homeless
Old 03-07-2008, 09:54 PM
  #3656  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chdlr, AZ
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I'm in the process of getting back into the racing hobby.I've been racing on and off for a whiile.I was considering the Mantis because I don't want to break the bank and I like running something different than the rest of the crowd.After finding this forum I'm seriously considering the TT ST-1.I've scanned through the posts and found a lot of interesting info.Thanks for all your posts,and thanks in advance for any future ???'s that I may post! I'm sure I'll read all 140 pages if I get the TT!
Old 03-07-2008, 10:16 PM
  #3657  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Then 10 years from now. You say wow. I didn't buy anything except fuel
LOL! my mom makes me buy all of my parts luckaly(?) all but $30 of it was to fuel i would have no $ if i kept running the t-maxx.!
Old 03-07-2008, 10:19 PM
  #3658  
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

well finally got the ofna blue truggy box to work the way i want it too
http://s120.photobucket.com/albums/o...t=MOV04926.flv

the 2 8.4 work good but this works the best, now i need to figure out how to mount it [sm=72_72.gif]
Old 03-07-2008, 10:40 PM
  #3659  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

hey jombo this is my duratrax starterbox. has twin motors but wont turn the ST-1 over w/ 2 stick packs.... ill hook it up the my moms SUV and see if it will turn over. think it will???????????????? i use it for my buggy but has no compression compaired to this thing! i duuno ill hook it up tomorrow...

Old 03-07-2008, 10:48 PM
  #3660  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Max - that looks just like the ofna box I had. You hook two 8.4v batteries up to it and I guarantee it turns your st-1 over. Granted it may also end up in smoke like mine did, but your car will be running - LOL!!!

Also, I think the short in mine was 100% due to a botched wiring job that I did to get the two batteries lined up in series. If you actually spend the time to wire them correctly, they should work amazingly.
Old 03-07-2008, 11:27 PM
  #3661  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

lol! ok thanks! thats what I wanted to hear!
Old 03-07-2008, 11:30 PM
  #3662  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Madmax thats the same as the first box i bought for my Nosram. It only lasted one day at the track and then the motors burnt out [:@] now i use the thunder tiger box with 2x7.2 volt 3000mAh Intellect batteries and its perfect. Starts up instantly, i dont even hear the starter box turn over, the engine just fires on contact with the wheel. Its more like a switch than a starter, i push it and the engine turns on lol
Old 03-07-2008, 11:33 PM
  #3663  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

LOL! i have had it for a wile now! i never set the pegss up so it takes me 5 mins to get it on the box so it would hit the fly wheel. lol!
Old 03-07-2008, 11:35 PM
  #3664  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yeah thats the first problem i had with it. The ST-1 is too big to use the body posts i think you can use 1 maybe lol
Old 03-07-2008, 11:42 PM
  #3665  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

yea i couldent get any to fit. i wanted them to fit so I could leav the body on but ohh well Ill rig something up so I can do it. ill just drill new holes in it.
Old 03-07-2008, 11:58 PM
  #3666  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bronx, NY
Posts: 572
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i dont know if this is old news to you guys who would like to put roto start on your st 1 i went to thunder tiger 4u .com and got 2 sets of roto start back plates part number pn0273 for my st1 and my er 1 they fit like a glove now i can use ant of my roto start hand held units from any of my other cars its great also when i was putting it on my st 1 i noticed that they never put the back brake disc in from the factory unless it cracked and fell out oh well time to upgrade you know i just cant fix it i must make it better
Old 03-08-2008, 12:11 AM
  #3667  
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ORIGINAL: madmax22

yea i couldent get any to fit. i wanted them to fit so I could leav the body on but ohh well Ill rig something up so I can do it. ill just drill new holes in it.


madmaxx22 you need this cable to hool up 2 8.4 batteries, its not worth making one for the price of this and that should turn it over http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMTZ3&P=X
Old 03-08-2008, 12:14 AM
  #3668  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: , AZ
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Are the only pre-painted bodies that fit the ST-1 the bodies for the MBX5T? If so, who has the biggest selection on the net?
Old 03-08-2008, 12:20 AM
  #3669  
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

here are the speed 500 motors , geared their rated at 12 v each so tecnically you could run 16 to 18 volts with no problem
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/speed500.htm
Old 03-08-2008, 12:25 AM
  #3670  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bronx, NY
Posts: 572
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

if you have to much pinch try to give the starter cord a little yank when you ingage the stater box it will usually get youg motor spinning
Old 03-08-2008, 10:12 AM
  #3671  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

quote:

ORIGINAL: madmax22

yea i couldent get any to fit. i wanted them to fit so I could leav the body on but ohh well Ill rig something up so I can do it. ill just drill new holes in it.




madmaxx22 you need this cable to hool up 2 8.4 batteries, its not worth making one for the price of this and that should turn it over http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMTZ3&P=X
I came with it and the one to put up to a car battery
Old 03-08-2008, 11:11 AM
  #3672  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yes, definitely buy that connector Madmax. If your box doesn't have the tamiya connector to start with coming from the motors/starter just take your time wiring that up. I tried a McGuyver job and with that much power coming through it doesn't surprise me that I smoked the box. There again at 12yrs old you're already more r/c advanced than I am so I'm sure you won't run into this problem! It really does start up so effortlessly with this setup.

ORIGINAL: jombo

ORIGINAL: madmax22

yea i couldent get any to fit. i wanted them to fit so I could leav the body on but ohh well Ill rig something up so I can do it. ill just drill new holes in it.


madmaxx22 you need this cable to hool up 2 8.4 batteries, its not worth making one for the price of this and that should turn it over http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMTZ3&P=X
Old 03-08-2008, 11:30 AM
  #3673  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

yup i have all the connectors. ill go try the car batt in the basement and hook it up to that in a little. I hope i t works! THe onlything about the starter box if I stall i cant just run over yank on the cord and be going again. ohh well... Ill live.
Old 03-08-2008, 01:23 PM
  #3674  
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Got it in



Had to use a bumpstart backplate the SW .26 one. Also running the 15T bell. So hopefull will be alot faster then the mach 427. I didn't want to cut the backplate for the spin starter. Shimming wasn't feasable either way to high maybe 5-6mm gap don't like the idea of the whole motor sitting much higher on washers.Can't wait to try it. Looks so nice now. I might just be able to keep it if I can sell two memory cards locally when they come.

Would probably work with the proper rotostart backplate which is smaller and a spinstarter .12-16. instead of the pullstart backplate which is larger and the spinstart .21-.28 backplate.

More pics here

http://s81.photobucket.com/albums/j2...cem/Rc%20cars/
Old 03-08-2008, 01:37 PM
  #3675  
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Got my St-1 in yesterday. My stick pack for the reciever doesn't fit though can I see some pictures of your setups?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.