Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 06-04-2008, 08:55 AM
  #5351  
chedster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: , OR
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

No I just upgraded before I did. Its only been one race since I put it on so time will tell on its durability
Old 06-04-2008, 08:58 AM
  #5352  
chedster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: , OR
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

If anybody wants a battey pack Ill solder one or two up for you just gotta pay for batteries. I need practice soldering. THe ones I made have held up great so far. $20 gets you two packs
Old 06-04-2008, 09:16 AM
  #5353  
dirthead
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

yeah slayer the s3 thread is pretty dead, I'm the other guy lol
Don't understand why noone is running this buggy it's great!
Old 06-04-2008, 09:56 AM
  #5354  
slayerphonics
Senior Member
 
slayerphonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 2,384
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I think people don't drive it because its one of the cheapest kits i've seen.

Kinda like the St-1

The ST-1 and S3 are totally underated.

Who do I contact if my Kit was short some parts?

Old 06-04-2008, 10:11 AM
  #5355  
xjqkz
Senior Member
 
xjqkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: cold_reboot

I bought the Ballistic 5 cell hump for my Caster K8T off of AMain's site and it's a piece of crap, won't charge above 5.7amps and won't hold it's charge. Starts dropping a few tenths every hour it's not on the charger till it go's flat. Probably a bad/dead cell in it. The battery is brand new, never been used, probably won't be buying any more Ballistics. I had the Venom 1600 stick pack in my ST-1 and it's great, never had a problem with it, charges well and holds it's charge for weeks on end. Unfortunately the stick pack won't fit in the Caster radio box. Guess it go's with the ST-1 when my brother in law buys it. Ordered a new matched cell custom built pack to replace the Ballistic.

How can you check for dead cells in a battery pack? I've like 2 dead battery packs laying around I can probably take them apart and make one good pack.
Old 06-04-2008, 03:04 PM
  #5356  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: kweezinarts

5 AA's wont fit in a stock Thunder Tiger rx box []...
mine do
Old 06-04-2008, 03:26 PM
  #5357  
kweezinarts
Senior Member
 
kweezinarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22


ORIGINAL: kweezinarts

5 AA's wont fit in a stock Thunder Tiger rx box []...
mine do
pic plz.

i would prefer using 5 AA as i already have 16 2500mah AA rechargables to use for my rx...
Old 06-04-2008, 04:15 PM
  #5358  
Chedzter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , OR
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Way back on page 110 there is a pic. Wow this forum is getting huge over 200 pages!
Old 06-05-2008, 01:57 AM
  #5359  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ok, after skimming over the stuff, what reciever pack WILL fit into a STOCK ST-1, because ive got some old RC18T packs that won't give the jolt it needs for drivn the motor, but has enough punch for servos.... and was wondering if it would work or not, the cells are "2/3A" cells, just askin, now if only i can convince my parents to let me get it[>:]
Old 06-05-2008, 09:53 AM
  #5360  
slayerphonics
Senior Member
 
slayerphonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 2,384
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey dirthead,

On your S3 did you have problems with breaking things at the hinge pins?

Like the pin or brace or the pivot balls?

How about the front shock tower?

Kinda disapointed at how much stuff i've actually broken on this buggy already. Although its just minor stuff.

But the biggest thing is I've bent the front shock tower, i'm gonna order the CNC ones are they much stronger? it looks like the design of the shock tower its self is the problem,

I need to find where to order just the pivot balls and the plastic carriers for the hinge pins,

Do you know of a skid plate that will fit it also?
Old 06-05-2008, 02:45 PM
  #5361  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

slayer that is odd, i always here the guys at the track just talking about how it's probably the most reliable and durable buggy available.
Old 06-05-2008, 03:18 PM
  #5362  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ok its no the rear diff.. i took it out and clened it and put some lithium grease on it.... i think its the center. i think it might be a break pad?
Old 06-05-2008, 03:35 PM
  #5363  
kweezinarts
Senior Member
 
kweezinarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

do those red cnc front and rear shock towers from the S3 fit the ST-1?
Old 06-05-2008, 03:43 PM
  #5364  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

ok its no the rear diff.. i took it out and clened it and put some lithium grease on it.... i think its the center. i think it might be a break pad?
lol. Man i told you how to test it. Just grab the center drive shafts, and try and roll it,If the shaft is spinning with the wheel, then it is obviously not that diff, repeat with the other driveshaft, then you know it HAS to be the center diff! Brake pad won't cause your car not to move lol!!
Old 06-05-2008, 06:24 PM
  #5365  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

AHHHH I FOUND IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One of the center diff out drives broke off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YES! ok but when i spin the front wheel the other doesnt do backwards.... is this because the out drive on the rear was down? i'm so happy
Old 06-05-2008, 07:57 PM
  #5366  
slayerphonics
Senior Member
 
slayerphonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 2,384
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: kweezinarts

do those red cnc front and rear shock towers from the S3 fit the ST-1?
I donno, I just ordered the King Headz shock towers for the S3 they are super thick, but like 35 for one and 32 for the other. BLEH! thats like 1/6th the cost of the truck.
Old 06-05-2008, 08:23 PM
  #5367  
dirthead
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

The shock towers are a great upgrade slayer, I have the king headz ones, and haven't broken anything, like I said in my previous post. Just lose screws,lol too lazy to go and locktite everything.

kweezinarts No the S3 shock towers don't fit on the ST_1 I tried. I have 2 sets of red anodized shock towers for the S3, and I wanted to put a set on the ST-1 and [&o] no go!
Old 06-05-2008, 08:29 PM
  #5368  
kweezinarts
Senior Member
 
kweezinarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

that sucks, they make every other hop up in red anodized EXCEPT the towers? i dont get it...

oh i figure ill post this in the ST-1 thread:

Selling my stock .28! its basically brand new again just got it back from Ace. It needs to be broken in...
I will be posting it on ebay soon so let me know...
Old 06-05-2008, 09:40 PM
  #5369  
spikeman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: monroe, MI
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

grrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!! I"m so mad I have not even a gallon through my ST-1 and I've kept it like new. However out of all my trucks I've ever had all of them have been an endless money pit that never go a week without breaking and I drive them so carefully that they should never break so much. I'm searching the web for other possible hobbies.
Old 06-05-2008, 09:44 PM
  #5370  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: spikeman

grrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!! I"m so mad I have not even a gallon through my ST-1 and I've kept it like new. However out of all my trucks I've ever had all of them have been an endless money pit that never go a week without breaking and I drive them so carefully that they should never break so much. I'm searching the web for other possible hobbies.
get a real car fix it up. look at it and smile. I am looking at 1990's subaru's.
Old 06-06-2008, 04:55 PM
  #5371  
xjqkz
Senior Member
 
xjqkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

so why exactly are you mad? for not spending the same amount of money on st-1 ?? and if that is the case then why look for another hobby?

As far as my experience with my st-1's, apart from spending money on upgrades and gas I have not have to spend $ on anything else.
Old 06-06-2008, 06:13 PM
  #5372  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i rarely break something... i dont know what you are doing wrong.
Old 06-06-2008, 07:49 PM
  #5373  
ProStreetCamaro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glenwood MD
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ORIGINAL: ericem


ORIGINAL: spikeman

grrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!! I"m so mad I have not even a gallon through my ST-1 and I've kept it like new. However out of all my trucks I've ever had all of them have been an endless money pit that never go a week without breaking and I drive them so carefully that they should never break so much. I'm searching the web for other possible hobbies.
get a real car fix it up. look at it and smile. I am looking at 1990's subaru's.

Yeah if he thinks RC is expensive then god forbig he get into real cars.



My cars. Blue one is my daily driver and red one is my street rod/race car





Old 06-06-2008, 08:08 PM
  #5374  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

pro street i like your sig
Old 06-06-2008, 08:41 PM
  #5375  
ProStreetCamaro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glenwood MD
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

pro street i like your sig

Well its the truth aint it? LOL

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.