Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 06-09-2008, 10:50 AM
  #5401  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glenwood MD
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: AutoXMan

I plan on racing my ST=1 for the first time in 2 weeks.
just steering mod and diff oils are all I have done. We will see.


Really there isnt much else to do. Its a great truggy right out of the box. Once you get your diff oils dialed in and your shocks set up the way you like them thats about it. The stock steering servo sucks pretty bad. I just replaced mine with an Ace DS1015 and I can tell you its a night and day difference in response and speed.
Old 06-09-2008, 06:10 PM
  #5402  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

the best things you can do is an engine and servo's and tires/wheels.
Old 06-09-2008, 11:21 PM
  #5403  
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rogers, AR
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Does anybody know where I can get the extended wing mount. It has been on backorder since I bought my st1 rtr. I raced it in my first race last weekend and didn't do to well. Most likely due to my non-driving skills.
Old 06-10-2008, 01:54 PM
  #5404  
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: knightkj

Does anybody know where I can get the extended wing mount. It has been on backorder since I bought my st1 rtr. I raced it in my first race last weekend and didn't do to well. Most likely due to my non-driving skills.
Main key is to slow down, you don't HAVE to go full throttle all the time.
Old 06-10-2008, 02:28 PM
  #5405  
Senior Member
 
slayerphonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 2,384
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: knightkj

Does anybody know where I can get the extended wing mount. It has been on backorder since I bought my st1 rtr. I raced it in my first race last weekend and didn't do to well. Most likely due to my non-driving skills.

I don't know if the S3 wing fits the ST-1 they look the same,

But it shows in stock under the S3 parts list. at amain
Old 06-11-2008, 11:58 AM
  #5406  
Senior Member
 
xjqkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

amain has a very limited supply of the ext wing mounts. You will have to buy one at back order, once it comes in stock they will notify you. Since the limited number hey get gets all used up in backorder thats why it seems like its always out of stock.
Old 06-11-2008, 10:01 PM
  #5407  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yeah the S3 wing will fit the ST-1, all wings are the same unless they are already pre-drilled to fit a specific type or brand.

Prostreetcamaro, i changed to the DS1015 at my first proper race meet and it blew me away at the difference. Coming from a Hitec 5645MG to the DS1015 was pretty much doubling speed and torque, with half the lap times.

My dad finally got fed up with trying to race his Hyper 8.5 PRO buggy and decided to follow my footsteps and buy an ST-1 PRO. I didnt even say anything to him he just came home from work last week and said "Guess what i just paid for my new ST-1 PRO?". I was like 'Finally youv come to your senses and bought a real RC" lol he reckons the buggies are crap and not as stable and that he'll match me round the track now that we will be driving the same thing (minus the BCE chassis, hub extenders, steering mod) lol I wanted to tell him to learn to drive first but i'll wait and see what he can do with it before i open my mouth
Old 06-11-2008, 10:45 PM
  #5408  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

cool beans itchy! Lets see some vids!
Old 06-11-2008, 11:13 PM
  #5409  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gold CoastQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 682
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

What track you at Itcybum?
Old 06-12-2008, 07:49 AM
  #5410  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

is the raze st better then this stock or is this. i want an honest opinion and will be getting into racing
Old 06-12-2008, 09:17 AM
  #5411  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

is this an outdated truggy, i like the raze st and its newer and is the st1 better then it out of the box. Im going to be racing but i like the raze st is it better then this
Old 06-14-2008, 08:44 AM
  #5412  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

lol went to the LHS to see if they had the shafts, no..... so i left ver unhappy.. I dont want to buy online because s/h is going to be more than the part.....[:@] i goota go to the good one like 2 hrs away when my dad goes to work.
Old 06-14-2008, 08:13 PM
  #5413  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey guys, maybe you can help me, or my friend anyway.
I know this is a TTR thread, but my friend drives a CEN Matrix Pro Arena, sorry for swearing, lol, and I'm only doing this cause he's a good guy.
Every time he guns the throttle on pavement especially, his truggy takes off to the right. He's tried changing diff fluid weights, even changed diffs, changed tires, replaced a arms, redid shocks, etc and we're at a total loss for explanation. any suggestions?[8D]
Old 06-14-2008, 08:44 PM
  #5414  
Senior Member
 
xjqkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

This is what happened today:

I was running my car around in an empty parking lot all of a sudden the throttle servo quit working.....car will still turn but not respond to throttle. so any ways I pulled out that servo replaced it with another one and that also started smoking just as I used it so i cut the power and disconnected the servo. I'm running Spektrum tx and rx. The servo that quit working was a the factory one and the replacement that started to smoke was also factory.
Has this happened to anyone? if so how did you resolve it?
Old 06-14-2008, 09:15 PM
  #5415  
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: xjqkz

This is what happened today:

I was running my car around in an empty parking lot all of a sudden the throttle servo quit working.....car will still turn but not respond to throttle. so any ways I pulled out that servo replaced it with another one and that also started smoking just as I used it so i cut the power and disconnected the servo. I'm running Spektrum tx and rx. The servo that quit working was a the factory one and the replacement that started to smoke was also factory.
Has this happened to anyone? if so how did you resolve it?
You need to make sure your end points are set up correctly man. If it's pulling throttle past what throttle goes it will kill the servo, same for brakes if it's pulling past the lock up all 4 point same effect.
Old 06-14-2008, 10:49 PM
  #5416  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey Dirthead, i had the same problem with my last RTR ST-1 but it ran away on me and got totalled that same day before i could have a proper look and figure out what the problem was. I did ask the question but and from what i remember it was either something binding on the side of the slower turning wheel or one of the CVD's are a bit bent causing it to drag slightly. Have a close look at the CVD's it might just be that...maybe
Old 06-15-2008, 07:40 AM
  #5417  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

you said you checked the wheels but did you check the wheel hexes?
Old 06-15-2008, 09:19 AM
  #5418  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

check the hexes for what?
Old 06-15-2008, 09:22 AM
  #5419  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Someone on the Cen site told me it sounded like torque steer, I kind of understand what he means, but don't know how to fix it, he asked if the chassis brace was adjustable. ????
Old 06-15-2008, 09:23 AM
  #5420  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I think he should just buy an ST-1 and be done with it!! lol
Old 06-15-2008, 12:22 PM
  #5421  
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

if the hexes are stripped. lol i duuno what that is and tell him to buy a ST-1
Old 06-15-2008, 03:35 PM
  #5422  
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Tell him to go over all off the suspension shake it look for play and loose items!!!
Old 06-15-2008, 07:55 PM
  #5423  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: pellston, MI
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

are the front/rear diff cases the same as the center diff case?
Old 06-15-2008, 08:05 PM
  #5424  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Glenwood MD
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: revoeater76

are the front/rear diff cases the same as the center diff case?

Im not 100% sure (i should be I just had all 3 apart to fill with silicone) but I think the center diff is larger.
Old 06-15-2008, 10:38 PM
  #5425  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Grand Falls, NB, CANADA
Posts: 657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey everyone, just an update on how awesome our truggies are, I went to the track today, and I have the only St-1 there, and I'm also the only one that didn't break anything, and I ran at least 3 times as much as everyone there. The others were having all kinds of probs, and my trugg went on without a glitch, "Knock knock"
WOOD

Not only was it durable and reliable, but when the others were running with me, I was blowin em away!!!

I love this truggy!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63875.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	82.9 KB
ID:	971488   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb88103.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	971489  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.