Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 07-06-2008, 08:11 PM
  #5651  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

sweet job auto..... hey man are you autoXman over at groundpoundersrc.com to?
Old 07-06-2008, 09:07 PM
  #5652  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yes I am,

Heres the vid
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKUcUAzJ-YE
Old 07-06-2008, 11:09 PM
  #5653  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

nice, did prety good, leme guess, the ST-1 that mmm, crashed at start, but did prety good [8D], man, this truck is a BLAST, stuck 10,000 WT oil in the Center diff, seems to help a little [8D], i love driving this car, freeky how fast a gallon can go [X(] (blame it on breakin and tuning), i remember someone said check the grub screw on the rear CVD to make shure it doesn't "wobble loose", anyone have problems with the brakes being quite "soft," what i mean is you brake the car and it slows down but not enough, thats just me, maybe i don't have the settings right[>:], ill have to check, but i definately can't wait to race this puppy against a mini
Old 07-07-2008, 12:38 AM
  #5654  
ItchyBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Cool video mate, i like that track. Its a really good track for you to start racing on cause its small, smooth and not too technical and the jumps all look nice and even so its easy to clear them and maintain speed. Its alot harder than it looks isnt it lol All you need to remember next time you go racing is to try and maintain consistency. A little time on the track on your own would be the best but just start off slow and figure out a racing line around the track and gradually build up speed. If you stick to this you will become a much better driver in no time and also you will figure things out like your suspension setup, tires, diff oils, what parts you will want to change or upgrade. And you will also settle into your own driving style which is most important, instead of just randomly driving around the track. It wont take long before you start to overtake people, and then you will start winning, but the key to winning with these things is consistency. Good luck for next time at the track mate
Old 07-07-2008, 09:06 AM
  #5655  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

calv. if your reaks are soft there are 2 black bolts on the metal plate that acts as the break (like it rubs the disk to make it slow) you prob. got oil on you break disks or you need to tighten these bolts.... if you tightened them and they still are not doing their job that the break disks out and take like 400 sandpaper and rub them till they are tan, mine were black and would not stop for anything.... it also may be you linkages if you EPA is set at like 90 put it to like 95 and so on.
Old 07-07-2008, 11:33 AM
  #5656  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

hey guess wha my package came, i ant wait another week
Old 07-07-2008, 05:19 PM
  #5657  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

calv. if your reaks are soft there are 2 black bolts on the metal plate that acts as the break (like it rubs the disk to make it slow) you prob. got oil on you break disks or you need to tighten these bolts.... if you tightened them and they still are not doing their job that the break disks out and take like 400 sandpaper and rub them till they are tan, mine were black and would not stop for anything.... it also may be you linkages if you EPA is set at like 90 put it to like 95 and so on.
ya, mine are black [:'(], crap, that means im poppin out the CD again, or can i take it easier,well see, man with our 3 digit summers commin its gettin little harder to tune (aka, to scared to lean it out a ton [&:]), anyone notice that "bulk fuel" is cheaper, any good aftermarket ones that fit on there, like ones for the savage????
Old 07-07-2008, 05:34 PM
  #5658  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

what fits on what???? lol... out side temps. wont effect your engine temps its your tuning.... Yea i just heard fuel prices are going up... BT was $23 not its up to $25.... thats for 20% i wonder what 30% went up to.... yea bulk fuel is always cheaper.
Old 07-07-2008, 05:42 PM
  #5659  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

what fits on what???? lol... out side temps. wont effect your engine temps its your tuning.... Yea i just heard fuel prices are going up... BT was $23 not its up to $25.... thats for 20% i wonder what 30% went up to.... yea bulk fuel is always cheaper.
lol, my gal of sidewinder 20% was $28 [&:], if i get the fuel in bulk, its much cheaper, like $18.75 in bluk (without tax included) ya, for me im trying to get the engine running but i don't want it running at like 310 deg [&:], as it is, is way to hot to do anythin outside[>:], i wait till later on in the day to drive, lol, what to do with the rest of the yard, make it into a track, wish, ya, i should clean up my brake disks and see if that can help a bit[8D], what norm happens when i run the truck is i gas it, and it runs ok, then i go to idle and "WAN(silence)" so im thinkin it was to rich, when it gets this hot you deflinately have to lean the engine out to keep it running[>:]
Old 07-07-2008, 06:08 PM
  #5660  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

hey guys, i just got my new st-1 and am haveing engine tuning problems. i can hardly get any power out of my engine without the temps getting up above 260 and when i do get the power it should have it goes up to 300. and when i get off the gas and let it idle it leans it self out and within 20 seconds or so the idle goes down and then the motor shuts off. i have tuned many motors before but this one seems to give me allittle trouble. do i need to mess around woth the low speed needle?
thanks
noah
Old 07-07-2008, 06:11 PM
  #5661  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

and if i get on the throttle after letting it sit there without giving it any gas it gets really lean and then when i am on the throttle for more than 5 seconds it richens up again
Old 07-07-2008, 06:14 PM
  #5662  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

sounds like a low speed problem, try messing around with the settings, or maybe you have the dreaded airleak[&:]
Old 07-07-2008, 06:26 PM
  #5663  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

would it be possible to have an air leak with only four tanks on the motor?
Old 07-07-2008, 06:31 PM
  #5664  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: xtmracer41

would it be possible to have an air leak with only four tanks on the motor?
ya, some motors dont come sealed up "perfectly" from the box, also check that you have no kinks... in the fuel line as that can cause a boatload of problems[&:]
Old 07-07-2008, 06:58 PM
  #5665  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

where are the major places to check for leaks?
Old 07-07-2008, 07:31 PM
  #5666  
NickNitro26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gatineau, QC, CANADA
Posts: 175
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: xtmracer41

where are the major places to check for leaks?

Fuel line, fuel tank, fuel filter, neddle gaskets and backplate

so pretty much anything the fuel touches
Old 07-07-2008, 08:02 PM
  #5667  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

thanks guys!
Old 07-07-2008, 08:10 PM
  #5668  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

and also make sur you engine cooling head is tight, back plate is sealed, all needles are sealed, carb isnt moving and it tight. it sound like your presure line has a hole but check everything.
Old 07-07-2008, 08:15 PM
  #5669  
xtmracer41
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hanover, PA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ok so where is the backplate and is the pressure line the line that goes from the tank to the pipe?
Old 07-07-2008, 08:16 PM
  #5670  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

guys i took a peek, and wow this thing is huge compared to the 1/10's, and the pipe is sweet and big and chrome, and the head that is sweet. cant wait to race it next week, im going to go kick losi ***** lol
Old 07-07-2008, 08:43 PM
  #5671  
Danju
Senior Member
 
Danju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: thousand oaks, CA
Posts: 1,669
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

1) backplate is where the P/S is...the backplate should have an o-ring and this whole setup attaches to the end of the crankcase.
2) yes
Old 07-07-2008, 09:19 PM
  #5672  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I always check the carbs. Starting weith tightening the high speed needle, then loosening hte carb pinch bolt and wiggling the carb loose. Then pushing down on the car with the linkage lined up correctly and at the same time while holding the carb down to press again the o-ring below I tighten the pinch bolt. Just a extra percaution. Another thing make sure the fuel line is not touching the exhaust engine head anything really hot, because it will cause the fuel to boil. I found with those engines I would sometimes tune the low speed very rich and high speed lean. Most the time I ran the high speed very rich like 2-3 turns out and low speed closer to the flush mark. Idle should be a bit of a gap around 1mm remove the air filter to see that. To be 100% honest they are not the easiest motors to tune, but hold a tune well, and last a VERYY long time. Even power wise it is plenty, untill you get bored of it.
Old 07-07-2008, 10:26 PM
  #5673  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

GOOD NEWS!!

http://www.amainhobbies.com/advanced...-1+rtr&x=0&y=0
Old 07-07-2008, 10:46 PM
  #5674  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ericem when are you getting yours
Old 07-07-2008, 10:55 PM
  #5675  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ASAP!! I need a )_(%^*_)+)(& ST-1 here even if I am not driving it. I am just known as mr.ST-1 and all my friends are giving my &_*) since I don't have one and they all do, they think my monster gt sucks mainly because the st-1 jumped alot better and was overall faster.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.