Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 09-05-2008, 08:59 PM
  #6226  
marshon50
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

so what was the problem and what was your fix? Inquiring minds want to know....
Old 09-05-2008, 09:37 PM
  #6227  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

well my problem was i had a big steering issue but it was a simple fix. My steering would just not turn or even put out any torque, but we found out that the servo saver became loose somehow, so we tightened it up and all i can say is[X(][X(][X(][X(] This thing steers like no other, i think i could put it anywhere. if you want more in depth info, checkout the thread (tried everything)
Old 09-06-2008, 11:34 AM
  #6228  
eddyeddy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: sp, BRAZIL
Posts: 77
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Amain finally got the extended wing mount in stock! Now just have to wait 4 weeks to arrive at home. [:@]
Old 09-06-2008, 03:56 PM
  #6229  
bajaracer1501
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Just FYI - [link=http://www.thundertiger4u.com/]ThunderTiger4u[/link] also has them...that's where I got mine when I saw that they were backordered at Amain

Old 09-06-2008, 06:23 PM
  #6230  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

well, my starter box is on the way , can't wait to get the car goin, i found a simple way to get a little more "turn" out of the car, you know that "turnbuckle" between the servo arm and the bellcrank, if you set the car to full right, turn the reciever off, and twist the screw till the arm can't go any more, ooh man, helps a ton with the car and the turning radius [8D]
Old 09-07-2008, 06:23 PM
  #6231  
revoeater76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: pellston, MI
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ive got a rotostart on a stock ttr engine will it fit my pullstart spec 3?
Old 09-07-2008, 10:10 PM
  #6232  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: revoeater76

ive got a rotostart on a stock ttr engine will it fit my pullstart spec 3?
nope
Old 09-08-2008, 10:04 AM
  #6233  
misasi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SSM, ON, CANADA
Posts: 350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey guys i need some advice. right now im running the stock motor and pipe on my ST1 but i was wondering if it would be worth it for me to upgrade my pipe. Now i know of course ill see more power but i know that soon i will be replacing the stock engine with either the Go .21 5 or 7 port engine. Now the pipe i was looking at was the TT 2035. I just dont want to buy a new pipe that wont pair up well with the new motor. Should i just stick with the stock pipe?
Old 09-08-2008, 11:23 PM
  #6234  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

well, got the starter box, and got my truck goin again, OOH BOY, what fun , shure missed that "lovely" smell of nitro, did have a racing problem around the last 1/3 of the tank, what does that mean, should i get a different tank?
Old 09-08-2008, 11:28 PM
  #6235  
Chedzter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , OR
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

The 2035 pipe is a great all around pipe. I have a Go tech 5 port that I run a 086 pipe with or used to run. Also picked up a new Ninja .21 that I run the 2035 pipe with. My advice is to stay away from the Go tech and pick up a more reliable motor. The ninja is a dream to tune while the Go tech flames out if the tune is slightly off. It does make good power though and actually can run with the ninja easily. If you go with the Go tech 5 port I would get the dynamite 086 pipe. This motor puts out alot of bottom end. The Ninja with the 2035 is just so smooth everywhere and gets almost 10 minutes of runtime.

Calvino what you mean racing problem?
Old 09-09-2008, 03:06 PM
  #6236  
msg73
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , NJ
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I'm either going with the LRP Spec3 pull start or the Jammin .28 and a starter box. Do I need buy anything else to use it in my ST-1 (i.e. mounts, backplates, clutch, flywheel, etc) ?
Old 09-09-2008, 03:47 PM
  #6237  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ok, i have to say sorry to all the guys who said starter box and i said no to, DANG its easy to start the engine, gettin used to lining it up, but other than that, WOW, starts up so easy , ran the truck some, think i ran it a bit lean [X(], wanted to race at idle, other than that, ran like a champ, didn't "drink" fuel like it USED to [8D], alltogether, fun [8D]
Old 09-09-2008, 05:54 PM
  #6238  
msg73
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , NJ
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

which starter box did you get?
Old 09-09-2008, 06:39 PM
  #6239  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Well got my tools, wing mod (bought extra posts for the shock tower and mounted the wing to where the body usually attaches in the rear, you need to take out the screws and bring it up one level to the adjustable part of the mount). The tools are soo nice way easier then the damn T hex drivers. This definitely makes the body stronger. Also got a new pipe ofna 053 going to see how it drives with it.



More pics here

http://s81.photobucket.com/albums/j2...cem/Rc%20cars/
Old 09-09-2008, 06:49 PM
  #6240  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ofna compact box , fires right up, sometimes its a little "tough" but thats because im learnin , well, set up a track in our backyard (pvc pipes) and let sis do it, she's prety good , and thats with no brakes [X(], ran the engine sorta rich for her, kept the speeds down... she is'nt used to the raw power of mr nitro lol, man, this engine shure's powerfull [8D]
Old 09-10-2008, 10:19 AM
  #6241  
Eganwp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Eganwp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 756
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Anyone know which aftermarket bodies will fit on the ST-1? http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/16555 one is out of stock, but I'm only assuming that it fits the ST-1.
Old 09-10-2008, 10:22 AM
  #6242  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

That one fits the ST-1.

Well in October I will be sending my ST-1 to RC-Monster for them to design a motor mount for electric power on the ST-1, should go well then I have the whole winter to get the perfect brushless setup.
Old 09-10-2008, 04:22 PM
  #6243  
DS
Senior Member
 
DS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ORIGINAL: Eganwp

Anyone know which aftermarket bodies will fit on the ST-1? http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/16555 one is out of stock, but I'm only assuming that it fits the ST-1.
going with the st-1?
Old 09-10-2008, 06:33 PM
  #6244  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Ya it fits.
Old 09-10-2008, 06:56 PM
  #6245  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

autoXman thats going to be one sweet mod!! are you going to use a servo for the breaks or the motor? what motor/esc/BEC/battery are you going to use? think the feigao 10XL motor mamba max V2 ESC a A123 battery castle creations CC BEC 10A but i want to here what you had panned
Old 09-10-2008, 09:50 PM
  #6246  
ItchyBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: BrisbaneQueenland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Im going to convert my dads ST-1 PRO to brushless with one of those novak kits. I'll use the motor mount that AutoXman uses with my own battery trays and esc mount with 2 x 11.1V lipo's or a big ass 10000 or 12000mah 22.2V and then turn the esc down for extra run time
Old 09-10-2008, 09:54 PM
  #6247  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

You will not fit a 12000 mah 6 cell battery in a ST-1 ROFL. Turning the esc down will overheat the esc for sure.

I am going to run a 9xl on 4 cell lipo and gear it for 35 mph, all you need for racing. I plan on using the servo brakes, but will see how much room I have to mount the lipo.

I am sending my car in after the season is over so November most likely now that I think about and he will take a month or so, then I have the rest of the winter to get it set up.
Old 09-11-2008, 09:07 PM
  #6248  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

cool beans! yes itchy a 12000 mah battery is HUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! good choice on the 9 xl i think it will give you a very good balance between power and speed! what ESC are you going to use auto?

also who is making your mount?
Old 09-11-2008, 10:28 PM
  #6249  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

X said it was i believe RC monster, man, this car shure knows how to WAIL , to bad my left rear tire rim is all dirty [&:], anyone run the wimpy TTR wing, its TINY, any good choices, i was looking at either an ofna, or J-Concepts wing for it, also, is it possible to wheelie a truggy?
Old 09-12-2008, 06:36 AM
  #6250  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

You really cannot wheelie a truggy because of the center diff. A nice brushless setup though can wheelie a truggy.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.