Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 12-23-2007, 09:50 AM
  #1176  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

if yor charger uses bannana plugs yes the bottom link dosent work so i dont know what that looks like. i have the duratrax itellapeak charger so mine uses the the plastic sqare plug to servo plug
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6414
this is where i found the right plug for mine just match up what you have with the charger you have
http://www.amainhobbies.com/index.php/cPath/1_61_128
if you need help post a picture of the charger you have

is this the batt you got if so you need something simmilar like the one i posted
Attached Images  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:57 PM
  #1177  
Matt (12 year old rc fanatic)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lemon Grove, CA
Posts: 504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i just got this reciever batt for my ST-1 but im not getting the ST-1 until christmas so i wanted to know if it is a good batt and will it fit in the ST-1

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMEY2&P=7
Old 12-23-2007, 06:03 PM
  #1178  
gtrider12345678
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: athens, GA
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

can you charge a battery pack at 2 amps? thats the lowest setting on my charger, but i might have to get another one if thats not ok.
Old 12-23-2007, 06:30 PM
  #1179  
rican25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I am not sure about 2 amps even if you could I think as with all batteries the slower you charge them the longer they last. as far as I thought anyway.
I charge my stick packs at 2 and my reciever packs at 1
Old 12-23-2007, 06:42 PM
  #1180  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

2amps is to way to high.

Yes that battery pack is fine.
Old 12-23-2007, 07:14 PM
  #1181  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

If you havwe a 1100 mah battery you can charge it at 1 amp. If you have a 2000 mah charge it at 2 amps, 3000 mah@ 3 amps and so on.
Old 12-23-2007, 07:37 PM
  #1182  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: Matt (12 year old rc fanatic)

i just got this reciever batt for my ST-1 but im not getting the ST-1 until christmas so i wanted to know if it is a good batt and will it fit in the ST-1

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMEY2&P=7

yes it will fit ,thats the same size as the one i have
Old 12-23-2007, 09:52 PM
  #1183  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Well I went and bought a new engine yesterday and was breaking it in today. I had the Sportwerks v2 in it (great engine btw) but wanted to see what these axials had in them so I bought one. Nice looking motor. The owner of the hobby shop said it would beat my sportwerks. Not sure about that though but wont know till broken in and tuned. Here are some pics adn I will keep posted on its performance but first impression is good. Started very easy first few pulls and ran at idle on factory settings. High speed was extremly rich and would not rev at all. Could not get temps above 180 even with head wrapped so I had to lean it out just a tad. Idle temps finally got up just over 200. So far so good. I have 3 more tanks to really start to get on it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50370.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	832631   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95414.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	832632  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:16 PM
  #1184  
88 STEELERS
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Waipahu, HI
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

is that the rtr motor mount? Did u have to modify it to fit
Old 12-24-2007, 12:19 AM
  #1185  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

RTR and Pro motor mounts are the same height. He shouldn't have had to modify the motor mounts since the backplate on the axial .28 is flush with the block. Maybe at most he had to add a washer.

I think I found a decent wall charger for guys just starting out and needing a charger for there RX pack but don't want to spend a fortune through a-main. If you get this charger, YES it is 7.2v at 200mAh but +/-1v is safe just charge for only like 4-6 hours.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/7939

and this adapter

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6414

SHOULD work fine just you need to charge for less time.

A good pack would be this one.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6259

I run this pack as well as a few of my other friends and they last VERY long at 6v through my ch3 on my rs300 receiver. So far I have owned mine for over a year and it still holds a charge and lasts just as long as when it was new.

For those of you on a tighter budget this one is fine.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/7261
Old 12-24-2007, 01:07 AM
  #1186  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Its a duratrax Intel peak pulse charger.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22990.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	78.9 KB
ID:	832746  
Old 12-24-2007, 08:54 AM
  #1187  
thrasher st1
Junior Member
 
thrasher st1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: albany, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

how are ya fast guy, cool pics of your st1 s i have one i have just set up for sand racing but cant work out how to put the pics in here can ya help me out
Old 12-24-2007, 08:56 AM
  #1188  
qaiz
Senior Member
 
qaiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

@thrasher st1.

Welcome to RCU and the forums

Use photobucket or image shack

or alternatively use the rcu image uploader.
Old 12-24-2007, 09:50 AM
  #1189  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I had to put 1/8 spacers under the mounts for the speedwerks and it worked fine but the axial backplate is very small and fits perfect. The backplate on the axial is almost flush but not quite. I also use a roto start.
Old 12-24-2007, 10:26 AM
  #1190  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

@madmax yes that charger will definitely work! Just pickup this adapter so you can plug the receiver pack into it.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/6414
Old 12-24-2007, 10:29 AM
  #1191  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

ahhhh ok i see now thanks! And Merry Christmas and Happy New year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 12-24-2007, 10:40 AM
  #1192  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Merry Christmas!!!!!!!!!
Old 12-24-2007, 12:56 PM
  #1193  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: twomanytoys

I had to put 1/8 spacers under the mounts for the speedwerks and it worked fine but the axial backplate is very small and fits perfect. The backplate on the axial is almost flush but not quite. I also use a roto start.
on the xtm 28 i needed to raise it 3/16 of an inch so a piece of 1/8 aluminum stock and a piece of 1/16 aluminum stock and just cut to size of the engine mounts. the xtm back plate is quite a bit larger than most pull starts i noticed.


and merry christmas to all
Old 12-24-2007, 01:02 PM
  #1194  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I think once my engine gives out witch hopefully wont be any time soon i will try an axial. Thay look good and i hear they are just very good engines. They don't cost that much either.
Old 12-24-2007, 01:24 PM
  #1195  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Will definitely be a while these .28's tend to last long. Alot of guys get them to last 6-12 gallons. Very good quality motors and yes the axial .28 is a good mill.
Old 12-24-2007, 04:56 PM
  #1196  
unluckylonestar
Senior Member
 
unluckylonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: daytona bch, FL
Posts: 307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

how many ports does the ttr 28 have?
Old 12-24-2007, 05:00 PM
  #1197  
fourwheels0
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: somerset, VA
Posts: 2,740
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

it's a 3 port engine.
Old 12-24-2007, 05:05 PM
  #1198  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yes 3 port so it does not rev real high but it has lots of torque. They are also extremly reliable, easy to tune and possibly the longest lasting engine you will ever get. Built solid. Not the most powerful or fastest but still very good.
Old 12-25-2007, 11:16 AM
  #1199  
spikeman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: monroe, MI
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just opened a brand new thunder tiger ST-1 and I already put $330 worth of parts on it. like proline crimefighters on 1/2 offset rims, a spectrum remote system, and a ofna truggy starter box. Those other truggies at the track wont know what hit them[sm=punching.gif]
Old 12-25-2007, 11:56 AM
  #1200  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

It aqlready comes with 1/2 offset.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.