Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Thunder tiger ST-1

Old 01-12-2008, 08:02 PM
  #1676  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I just use needle nose.
Old 01-12-2008, 08:47 PM
  #1677  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Here are some new discount codes for the purchase of a new ST1

If Your Order Totals: You Save! Refer to Coupon#
$100.00 - $149.99 $5.00 CALPJAN85
$150.00 - $249.99 $12.50 CALPJAN812
$250 or more $25.00 CALPJAN825
Old 01-12-2008, 09:04 PM
  #1678  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

Jombo where do you get RTV??? i need some for the top of the fuel tank where the tubing goes onto the exhaust......... will probably just seal motor it just in case...
just wondering why you want to see the top where the fuel tubing goes in. If the fuel line is damaged just replace the fuel line.
Old 01-12-2008, 09:28 PM
  #1679  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

no around the top not were the tubing is but it its kind of like a hex screw i saw bubbles coming out of it is that normal???
Old 01-12-2008, 09:30 PM
  #1680  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Well that tube coming in gives pressure to the tank. So there has to be air coming in lol.
Old 01-12-2008, 09:55 PM
  #1681  
Fikse7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Hey guys, getting ready to install the TT 2035 pipe. Looks pretty basic, any helpful hints before I make the switch? Also, do I need to richen up my needle settings with the 2035?
Thanks!
Old 01-12-2008, 10:03 PM
  #1682  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

From what I recall they are pretty close to the same. Just when you go run if you don't see any smoke or seems to rev lean, something like that. Then richen up which ever needle that is necessary.

Be sure when you install the exhaust that you don't pinch the seals make sure you just go over them, also helps to lubricate them with silicone lube. Usually it will slip on fine though. Also be sure to look at the alignment of how the old pipe sits. There are several different spring positions on the manifold so put it against the motor and position the exhaust and manifold then put the spring in the closest holes.

Old 01-12-2008, 10:38 PM
  #1683  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

Jombo where do you get RTV??? i need some for the top of the fuel tank where the tubing goes onto the exhaust......... will probably just seal motor it just in case...
ORIGINAL: ericem

Hey jombo you have hole shot's wheels in that photo right? I just bought some hole shots for a hard clay track. Hopefully they will perform well.

i got the rtv from walmart or any auto store (mostly walmart) and i had the same problem in this pic the exaust tube on top of the fuel tank leaks so i sealed that up i also sealed the carb by taking it out and putting a bead very carefully around it on the carb o ring it self never around the engine where the carb goes in because if some gets in the engine your done and need to take it all apart and clean her out. and also removed the starter or pull start and put some on the pull start and put it all back together and havent had a problem in over heating ,actually i had a hard time starting it because it was too rich at the stock settings and still after breakin i need to keep something over the cooling head to get it up to temp.


ericem you are gonna love the holeshot tires they stick to everything, i used them the other day and on pavement and on dry slippery dirt they performed great , its all about the tires i think and the stickier or softer the better but they wont last long because since they have sutch a high grip they will wear sooner.

Old 01-12-2008, 10:47 PM
  #1684  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i almost forgot i also green slimes the needles o rings (ae green slime from tower thats what its called ) then i sealed with rtv the idle screw and the pinch bolt on both sides of the carb (the bolt that holds the carb in) on the outside of the carb not on the threads of the carb on the inside thats a no no and thats it . you also need to make sure its all cured before you run it so you will be out 1 day with no ride .
Old 01-12-2008, 11:07 PM
  #1685  
Snaut Rocket
Senior Member
 
Snaut Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 3,304
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: jombo


ORIGINAL: ska8erj

ok
i got my st1 started after the pull start came off 3 times in a row after the first pull each timei got it runngin consistantly

but now when i rev it, it starts at idle and moves up to where i rev it to, but does not come back it keeps reving high and i had to run as fast as i could st catch it.

also it gets blazing hot after only like 3 minutes of runtime?!?!?!?!??!

whats wrong???

all i want to so is break in my baby and bring her to the track!!!![&o][&o]
you may be too lean on both needles or it has a air leak somewhere i sealed all my motors with rtv and after that i needed to lean them a bit because they were too rich.
Hey jumbo are you running a sts 28
If so How do you like it.
Break any crank shafts
Old 01-12-2008, 11:20 PM
  #1686  
jombo
Senior Member
 
jombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: trumbull, CT
Posts: 2,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i dont speek of ever owning a sts sts is on my enemy list lol. i have the xtm 28 in the st1 and what an engine for a inexpencive motor it performs really well.
Old 01-12-2008, 11:28 PM
  #1687  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Exactly what I said about my Mach 427. I picked it up used for $50. Outstanding motor and I am running a 15T bell.
Old 01-12-2008, 11:42 PM
  #1688  
All4Rippin
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salisbury, MD
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I'll tell you what I bought that 2035 tt pipe and cut my fuel line to about 3 inches and using trinity 30 % platinum racing fuel....It kills it on the track I put a 15 tooth bel then went to a 14 tooth and its way better you can feather the trottle or punch it and the power is always there......As for the starter box deal its good they work well likeearlier posted you don't nee anything but the box and battery.....I also put a tiger drive on the 28 pro its the s680 and thats thig is the Sh***
Old 01-13-2008, 02:55 AM
  #1689  
chedster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: , OR
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Will the axial .28 with the optional bumpstart plate fit the st-1 with no modifications? Any one have any input with this motor?

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPDU8&P=0
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPEJ6&P=Z
Old 01-13-2008, 09:28 AM
  #1690  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Yes it will. I suggest you run a 15T bell. That motor has alot of torque.
Old 01-13-2008, 09:52 AM
  #1691  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

All4rippin can you do a test for me????? just start you mototr get it up to temps and flip it over and see how long it takes for it to stall????Thanks!
Old 01-13-2008, 10:03 AM
  #1692  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

I have teh Axial .28 in my st1. Great engine. Tons of bottom end torque. I use a roto start backplate. The only modifications that you will have to make is to shim the engine up about 1/8 inch. The stock engine has a backplate that is even with the bottom of the engine. All other engines have backplates that sit lower than the engine and the stock mount makes it hit the chassis. Its not a big deal to shim it.
Old 01-13-2008, 10:11 AM
  #1693  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: madmax22

All4rippin can you do a test for me????? just start you mototr get it up to temps and flip it over and see how long it takes for it to stall????Thanks!
whats wrong? Mine with only about a inch of fuel line can idle for over 30seconds.
Old 01-13-2008, 10:26 AM
  #1694  
ska8erj
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: boca raton , FL
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

i have a question, what nitomethane pecent should i use after break in. im using 20% now, should i move up to 30% odonnels racing fuel or stay with 20 %???
Old 01-13-2008, 10:32 AM
  #1695  
cobra26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wildwood, NJ
Posts: 552
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1


ORIGINAL: twomanytoys

I have teh Axial .28 in my st1. Great engine. Tons of bottom end torque. I use a roto start backplate. The only modifications that you will have to make is to shim the engine up about 1/8 inch. The stock engine has a backplate that is even with the bottom of the engine. All other engines have backplates that sit lower than the engine and the stock mount makes it hit the chassis. Its not a big deal to shim it.

Can you tell me who's roto-start backplate you're using and a part number by any chance?

Thanks!
Old 01-13-2008, 10:37 AM
  #1696  
twomanytoys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: , PA
Posts: 5,382
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Here you go.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92327.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	849885  
Old 01-13-2008, 10:43 AM
  #1697  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

SkaterJ just keep w/ the 20% its fine. I broke all my engines in on 20% and they have laster at least 8gal's
Old 01-13-2008, 12:10 PM
  #1698  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

hey madmax. I looked at that nipple on the top of the tank. I see what you mean. When I removed it there was no silicone or any teflon tape to seal it. So I just wrapped the threads with plumbers teflon tape. Now it has a very tight seal.
Old 01-13-2008, 12:24 PM
  #1699  
madmax22
Senior Member
 
madmax22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greentown, PA
Posts: 4,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

Ok thanks my dad has some in his work bench ill go do it in a lil bit!!! tyvm
Old 01-13-2008, 01:56 PM
  #1700  
ericem
Senior Member
 
ericem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maple, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thunder tiger ST-1

No problem Make sure when you reassemble it that the white plastic piece on the side inside the tank is on the cap. Mine fell in and I later realized.

Oh btw forgot to mention something about those servo's. On the site it even says Hitec servo horn's work LOL! I didn't realize it was there. Jombo also confirmed it so that's good. I am going to get a aluminum servo arm. That should tighten up steering ALOT.

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/440704.asp

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.