Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Truggy
Reload this Page >

Truggy engine tuning question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

Truggy engine tuning question

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2010, 10:28 AM
pilottype

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Truggy engine tuning question

I have an Exceed-RC Battalian Truggy with the standard .21 engine in it. I can get it to idle and run somewhat. It will stall during acceleration and is slow to accelerate. I have basic knowledge of the various needles for this engine, but I can't quite seem to get it right. It'll start, and run to full speed with slow acceleration. It may do this two or three times before it'll just stall out either during acceleration or upon stopping.

Any help would be appreciated,
Pilottype
Old 09-03-2010, 12:34 PM
Chris79

Default RE: Truggy engine tuning question

IMOit sounds like your too rich on both needles. First try to lean out the low speed about 1/4 turn. If you lean it out too much and the wheels start to spin, richen it up untill the wheels stop spinning on their own.
Old 09-03-2010, 05:14 PM
pilottype

ORIGINAL: Chris79

IMO it sounds like your too rich on both needles. First try to lean out the low speed about 1/4 turn. If you lean it out too much and the wheels start to spin, richen it up untill the wheels stop spinning on their own.
OK...got the thing running pretty well, ran it for about a half a tank, and now it won't accelerate from idle. The "pinch test" shows it running too rich...slow increase in RPM and then it dies. I'm going to try adjusting the high speed needle to see if that helps. I also took it to my local RC shop and replaced the clutch bearings and all four tires. All I need to do is get it running reliably!
Old 09-03-2010, 07:37 PM
D.DJ