Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Giant Corsair ARF Disappeared.

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Top Flite Giant Corsair ARF Disappeared.

Old 08-16-2013, 07:40 AM
  #701  
BobH
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 8,049
Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Unless you have the shrink bar like the full scale Corsair, there isn't room to put the full length strut. The Corsair strut compresses when its retracting into the wing. Just for those who didn't know
Old 08-25-2013, 01:19 PM
  #702  
P47flyer
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 111
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Test flight today for my TF GS Arf corsair with Saito 325 R5 radial. Surprised by how well this thing flies. Motor pulls through 200ft loop easily. Easy takeoff and landing!

DaveH
Old 08-25-2013, 11:24 PM
  #703  
Chris Nicastro
My Feedback: (3)
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 3,128
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Cool can you post pics of the install? I had that engine but never ran it. I sold it because from all accounts it was under powered for my SisT Fw 190A8. The Corsair is lighter but unfortunately I sold it befor the ARF was released. Id like to see video of how yours is running and flying. Sort of kick myself for selling!
Old 08-26-2013, 06:36 AM
  #704  
smkrcflyer
 
smkrcflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamburg, PA
Posts: 1,008
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

DaveH, I have the same engine and have been looking for a plane for it. How did the plane balance out? I would also like to see some pictures.
Old 08-26-2013, 08:34 AM
  #705  
P47flyer
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 111
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Plane balanced by just moving batteries around. NO additional weight. Will try to get some video & photos shortly.

Dave H
Old 08-29-2013, 09:39 AM
  #706  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I completed 5 more flights and it continues to fly well.The gears doors work as planed. I did have a problem with the gear not going up until one lap around the field. I continued the flight for about 8 min. and then hit the gear switch and to my relief they came down.When I removed the wing I could see the knurled ring came off the Robart air valve.(no Loctite) OPPS! .Also I found a loose cowl block. All is well that ends well!
Old 08-31-2013, 04:42 PM
  #707  
P47flyer
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 111
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Video of 3rd flight-short video with Saito 325 R5.
http://youtu.be/Q6xve5yD0aE
Dave H
Old 09-12-2013, 02:59 PM
  #708  
COL J
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Republic, WA
Posts: 182
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Chris,
Did you put a Saito 300 twin in your Corsair. If so, how did the install go? I am putting Fg57BTS in mine. I believe these engines are about same physical dimension wise w/exception of the rear Walbro carb.
Old 09-17-2013, 12:10 PM
  #709  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

One cowl block came loose on flight #8 and the same thing happened on flight #16. Anyone else having this problem?
Old 09-17-2013, 01:28 PM
  #710  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,468
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

swordsn,

Had the same issue on their GS P-47. I pried them all off and epoxied them back in. No more problems.
Old 09-17-2013, 02:18 PM
  #711  
JKreitz
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I didn't have the blocks come loose, however I did have the screws come loose which eventually stripped out a couple of the blind nuts. I ended up gluing in some brass inserts and used some lock-tite to hold them in. Seems to be holding for now. I don't think it's the best design, but it's not bad.
Old 09-18-2013, 08:01 AM
  #712  
tlroliff
My Feedback: (38)
 
tlroliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I had a block come loose after about 20 flights-reglued it and all was fine. Of course doesn't matter much as I destroyed mine on Labor Day after probably 50-60 awesome flights. Still having nightmares about it! Long story but rest assured it WAS NOT air frame or equipment failure at all. I LOVED that airplane and have another on the bench already.

The cowl mounting was a bit cumbersome and I will open up more access through the dummy radial on my version 2 to make it easier. No one will notice and it beats a half hour struggle to get the cowl on and off!
Old 09-18-2013, 08:45 AM
  #713  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,468
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

swordsn,

Did you have to remove any of the cowl to clear the factory muffler?
Old 09-20-2013, 09:30 AM
  #714  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Yes the cowl is hard to remove and remount. I pinned all cowl blocks with a 1/8 dowel . Five flights and all is tight.
Old 09-20-2013, 09:33 AM
  #715  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Lifer View Post
swordsn,

Did you have to remove any of the cowl to clear the factory muffler?
Yes a very small slit where the front of the muffler touched the cowl.
Old 09-20-2013, 12:09 PM
  #716  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,468
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Thanks!
Old 09-20-2013, 04:08 PM
  #717  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SWORDSN View Post
Yes a very small slit where the front of the muffler touched the cowl.
Lifer, The slit is pictured on page 27 Post #665
Old 09-20-2013, 07:53 PM
  #718  
Chris Nicastro
My Feedback: (3)
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 3,128
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

I redesigned the cowl mounting situation on mine. I have working cowl flaps and the cowl ring is forward by 0.75in from the stock blocks. The ring with flaps is bolted to the firewall while the cowl has six button head screws mounting it to the cowl ring. Problem solved and more cooling flow added with a semi scale detail.

I had to chase the 4 stock cowl bolts every flight to try and keep the cowl from moving. On one flight the cowl came loose and rubbed on the back of the prop. I fixed it then a few flights later it happened again. Then I redesigned it all.

Also make sure you secure the dummy radial very well because the cowl will pressurize in flight and force it forward into the prop hub. I ruined one already due to this. Now with the cowl flaps this wont happen. The stock plywood on my kit is flimsy and flexes for and aft. Ive reinforced it to prevent its movement.

Cooling has not been a problem and my DLE 55RA has been working great.
Old 09-21-2013, 02:25 AM
  #719  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,468
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

swordsn,

Thanks. I must have overlooked it earlier. Great job cutting your cowl, bye the way. Very precise. I prefer to use the factory muffler if at all possible.
Old 05-29-2014, 12:43 PM
  #720  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I completed flight #60 last Saturday and my lead weight came loose on one side.fortunately no problem as it was trapped in the cowl.I will have to come with a better mount.I'll post some pics later
Old 05-31-2014, 04:25 PM
  #721  
Chris Nicastro
My Feedback: (3)
 
Chris Nicastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene, ID
Posts: 3,128
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Flew the Corsair today and we had a radar gun on hand. I made a basic turn and approached at full throttle, no dive, and we got 111mph on the radar.
DLE 55RA
22X10 Xoar Carbon prop
Non-ethanol 92 gas

I checked the plug and its the perfect color so the tune for today was spot on. I was flying with a buddy who has(had) the TF GS FW 190 and the Corsair was noticeably faster. The FW had a problem in flight and crash landed, aileron servo plate issue.
Old 05-31-2014, 05:07 PM
  #722  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Nicastro View Post
Flew the Corsair today and we had a radar gun on hand. I made a basic turn and approached at full throttle, no dive, and we got 111mph on the radar.
DLE 55RA
22X10 Xoar Carbon prop
Non-ethanol 92 gas

I checked the plug and its the perfect color so the tune for today was spot on. I was flying with a buddy who has(had) the TF GS FW 190 and the Corsair was noticeably faster. The FW had a problem in flight and crash landed, aileron servo plate issue.
Mine seems very fast also,but I haven't clocked it.
Old 05-31-2014, 05:22 PM
  #723  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

The first and second pics shows the way I have re-mounted the lead. The weight is mounted on a 1/8 alum. plated bolted between the engine and the stand-offs.The third pic shows the .048 thick steel plates that it was mounted on.Vibration caused cracks and finally a break in one mount.I hope the alum,which is softer will be less inclined to crack,but I'm not sure.Time will tell.Any metalurgist (spelling?)out there?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	f4u 042.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	2000265   Click image for larger version

Name:	f4u 043.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	2000266   Click image for larger version

Name:	f4u 044.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	2000267  
Old 06-26-2014, 12:48 PM
  #724  
V2rider
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: hagerstown, MD
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just picked one of these up from the classifieds here. It's missing the main gear doors and wheel well inserts. I don't want to run the doors on our grass field, but would like to fill some of the huge wells. If you used the doors and still have the wheel well inserts laying around please let me know. Thanks, glenn.
Old 06-28-2014, 01:22 PM
  #725  
SWORDSN
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WILLIAMSTON, SC
Posts: 1,126
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by V2rider View Post
Just picked one of these up from the classifieds here. It's missing the main gear doors and wheel well inserts. I don't want to run the doors on our grass field, but would like to fill some of the huge wells. If you used the doors and still have the wheel well inserts laying around please let me know. Thanks, glenn.
V2rider....Are you talking about the filler that leaves a hole for the wheel? I think I still have them since I mounted the doors.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.