Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Old 02-23-2013, 12:13 PM
  #26  
brockettman
 
brockettman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gypsum, CO
Posts: 377
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Wow Jeff that is one spectacular crash!

The only problem I have with showing my crashes is... Nobody brings a camera to document the event![X(]!

I'd show some pictures if I had them!

Not really a crash... but a whoops moment. Nosed over on the maiden flight landing.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36432.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	83.3 KB
ID:	1855386  
Old 02-23-2013, 01:34 PM
  #27  
Rob2160
Senior Member
 
Rob2160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Here are a couple of mine..

1st was after replacing the main shaft and a new head.. After lots of troubleshooting I discovered the problem was due to a shear of the bolt that holds the main gear / shaft in place, once this sheared the head was free to move up and the servos had no control over the swashplate.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flJ3Xq5lcpM[/youtube]

2nd crash was just a servo failure.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4230l9oPOQ[/youtube]
Old 02-23-2013, 01:40 PM
  #28  
hugger-4641
My Feedback: (6)
 
hugger-4641's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: McKenzie, TN
Posts: 1,886
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

One of the few I have a pic of. Most of my crashes are from flying in tight places or flying inverted 3' off the deck and are usually repairable, but this one was interference of some kind. I was inverted straight and level about 20' high and it suddenly went straight up about 200 feet then straight down full throttle into a tree.
I already had another air frame on the shelf, so what's left of this one is still boxed up in the shed in case I need some parts later.
Old 02-23-2013, 02:11 PM
  #29  
cloudancer03
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: palm harbor, FL
Posts: 2,232
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

I should have them videoed so ican have a good laugh.nah crashes are not embarassing.sad , yes but just part of the hobby.I always tell people when they ask about crashing that if younever crash then you arenot flying much.
Old 02-23-2013, 02:21 PM
  #30  
alanc
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, AE, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,795
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Dont understand that viewpoint, i have been flying for over 35 years, and can count the crashes on one hand,i do agree that one should accept crashes as a risk in this game, buta high % of crashes are avoidable, i am an instructor, and an examiner for our national certification, i also do a fair amount of test flying, for me to take the if you dont crash, your not flying much viewpoint, then i would not be fit to perform the tasks i have listed, crashing does not bother me, if it happens, it happens, but i do everything i can to eliminate the possiblity, does not everyone??
Old 02-23-2013, 02:27 PM
  #31  
fred985
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: stony point, NY
Posts: 290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

when ever i would fly out to Block Island,,,,about 15 miles over the ocean...the pratt 450 would always go on auto rough,,,did your engines go on auto rough when you were over the pond ???? next time install pontoons before attempting over water flight.
Old 02-23-2013, 02:41 PM
  #32  
fred985
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: stony point, NY
Posts: 290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes


ORIGINAL: irocbsa

I'm one of the guys who typically don't post crash photos, mainly because I feel like an idiot and spend the rest of the day second guessing myself until I'm blue in the face. As I'm getting older though, I'm learning to just try and have a good laugh when something bad happens. ''You have to laugh or you'll cry'', as the saying goes. So, in the spirit of the thread, here's my latest handiwork.

Top-Flite 60 sized Corsair with a 35cc gasser, second flight. Got squirly on take off, and I forced it into the air with the help of the massive thrust to weight ratio. Bad idea! She took off straight toward the trees and full right rudder and aileron weren't enough to keep her out of the branches. The initial smack into the branch tore the firewall completely out of the plane and took out 2 inches of the leading edge on each side of the wing. The subsequent 40 ft drop into the ice actually didn't do much more. [X(]

The best thing about crashing and being poor is that it teaches you to learn repair skills. The airframe is back together and waiting to fly again. This time it will be at our flying club and not off of my buddy's frozen lake.

aaaahhhhh hhaaa,,,a corsair with the tank tape on just like the real ones. i always look to see if the builders forget to seal the fuel tank,,,,hehe
Old 02-23-2013, 03:33 PM
  #33  
Steve Landron
 
Steve Landron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 269
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

No problem at all, it's part of the hobby! Here's a picture of the remains of a crash and after the rebuild.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54803.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	64.8 KB
ID:	1855432   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez81439.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	1855433  
Old 02-23-2013, 05:08 PM
  #34  
guamflyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: barrigada, GUAM (USA)
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

alanc,   you are are a fortunate fellow... I do all I can to avoid crashes , I kinda obssess when building to make sure all is tight and secure..I don't think anyone wants to crash but as you said it does happen..I slope soared alot in hawaii and flew just about everyday or rather any chance I got..the slopes are awesome there so I will admit to pushing the envelope..in full scale the risk is higher so being anal about the aircraft your about to get in is acceptable, atleast to me.. I really do all i can to make my rc plane safe and airworthy..a person that admits to crashing with an rc airplane is just being honest and willing to learn from it...it's the ones that do stupid things that are scary....


              SLOPE FAST  -  SOAR DEEP

                     guamflyer

         P-40 Brotherhood  #5 and 6
Old 02-23-2013, 05:08 PM
  #35  
chris923
My Feedback: (53)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: milwaukee, WI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

B-25 Before.............................After Throttle arm loosened up, spun into a swamp!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35287.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	1855452   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx76640.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	1855453  
Old 02-23-2013, 05:12 PM
  #36  
guamflyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: barrigada, GUAM (USA)
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

maybe it's how often one flies


SLOPE FAST  -  SOAR DEEP

         guamflyer
Old 02-23-2013, 07:00 PM
  #37  
eddieC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
eddieC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Steve L, it's hard to believe that's the same plane. Nice!

Piled in my Tango after the engine quit. On the bench now; it will be better, stronger, faster. Lol!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53681.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	1855478  
Old 02-23-2013, 07:47 PM
  #38  
Javier-RCU
My Feedback: (6)
 
Javier-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 272
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Maiden flight left elev. servo jammed on take off roll, some 6 years ago...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25528.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	1855499   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31875.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	219.9 KB
ID:	1855500  
Old 02-23-2013, 09:07 PM
  #39  
radfordc
My Feedback: (14)
 
radfordc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lansing, KS
Posts: 1,598
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes


ORIGINAL: Tommy_Gun

If you want to watch a crash go to the end of this video. [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQuYp6HAObw[/youtube]
Cause was a dead Rx battery.
I learned a good lesson from that one.
Rx battery? Pardon me for saying "BS". That was a high speed stall into the ground.
Old 02-23-2013, 10:24 PM
  #40  
hellcat56
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
hellcat56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hurst, TX
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

VEGA 406
You are one LUCKY dude
The lady did not do the best video job but her commentary was right on
I would not have thought losing one engine would result in that viloent of a problem
it was pretty smart of you to plant that corn field as an landing arrestor
I only assume you flew it again?
Old 02-23-2013, 11:19 PM
  #41  
chadxp1
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: perrysburg, OH
Posts: 144
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

I would have to agree. That is almosty exactly what took out my plane. I too thought it was some type of radio problem unitl I kept playing it over and over again into my head. I lost control of this plane once before with a stall. Unfortunatly the 2nd time it did not fair so well. I was cruising along pretty good. going fast. starting to bank and pull back on the elevator.... as I watch the plane spiral noze down to the ground, I tried pulling back harder on the elevator (not literally) to hope pull out of the spin. no luck. To me, then, it seemed as though the elevator did not respond but knowing now what I have learned was the plane went into a high speed stall. less elevator is what I should have done.







ORIGINAL: radfordc


ORIGINAL: Tommy_Gun

If you want to watch a crash go to the end of this video. [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQuYp6HAObw[/youtube]
Cause was a dead Rx battery.
I learned a good lesson from that one.
Rx battery? Pardon me for saying "BS". That was a high speed stall into the ground.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65054.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	119.4 KB
ID:	1855546   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34814.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	1855547  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:05 AM
  #42  
Scrubmonkey
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Booyal, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

i have only wriiten off one airframe in its first crash. a phoenix scanner that went full throttle through the trees after the elevator clevise failed. only the fuse with rudder attatched, the length of wind attatched to the fuse and the two wing tips is all that remained. it sits on the wall of the shed today. all my other crashes have been minors with small electric foamies which a tube of araldite and a new butter shaft for the motor was all that was needed. ill try and find some pics of the scanner.
Old 02-24-2013, 12:48 AM
  #43  
NUMB LOCK
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

TopFlite Thunderbolt 60, Scorpion 4035-380 on 6S, July 4, 2010...

About 20 secs into the Maiden flight, I looked down at my new radio to find the retracts switch. Looked up and got disoriented for a split second cuz the green Thunderbolt was in front of a tree line. Then did a full speed nose dive into a spinach patch. Worst part was is that I was alone at the field and it took me at least 3 times to walk 50 yards each way to retrieve the wreckage.

Bob I.


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93669.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	1855555   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75622.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	104.9 KB
ID:	1855556   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb76844.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	1855557   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rk23277.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	82.9 KB
ID:	1855558   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98860.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	1855559  
Old 02-24-2013, 06:25 AM
  #44  
yosephwhite
My Feedback: (34)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Just lost a brand new Funtana .50 yesterday! Maiden flight took her up while a fellow club member was flying his heli and while I was putting her through some basic loops rolls ect the engine died. I couldn't hear it over the heli and by the time I relized I had no power she had already stalled and went into a death spiral. Just too low to get the speed up to save her. She was built so light that repair wasn't really an option. We have a pond at our site but luckly I avoided that. Got everything back in good condition except the airframe. Oh well a good friend of mine in the hobby told me when I started "if you never want to crash don't bother flying them." I have no problem sharing my crashes everybody has them and if mine saves someone else a painfull lesson all the better.
Old 02-24-2013, 06:41 AM
  #45  
radfordc
My Feedback: (14)
 
radfordc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lansing, KS
Posts: 1,598
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

BTW, it doesn't just happen to models: http://www.arlingtoncardinal.com/201...o-kansas-city/


ORIGINAL: chadxp1

I would have to agree. That is almosty exactly what took out my plane. I too thought it was some type of radio problem unitl I kept playing it over and over again into my head. I lost control of this plane once before with a stall. Unfortunatly the 2nd time it did not fair so well. I was cruising along pretty good. going fast. starting to bank and pull back on the elevator.... as I watch the plane spiral noze down to the ground, I tried pulling back harder on the elevator (not literally) to hope pull out of the spin. no luck. To me, then, it seemed as though the elevator did not respond but knowing now what I have learned was the plane went into a high speed stall. less elevator is what I should have done.


ORIGINAL: radfordc


ORIGINAL: Tommy_Gun

If you want to watch a crash go to the end of this video. [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQuYp6HAObw[/youtube]
Cause was a dead Rx battery.
I learned a good lesson from that one.
Rx battery? Pardon me for saying ''BS''. That was a high speed stall into the ground.
Old 02-24-2013, 06:42 AM
  #46  
edp
My Feedback: (5)
 
edp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 608
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

How about a Tiporare doing a knife edge to knife edge pass threw a tree (sort of). I was at a tighter field than where I normally fly.[:@]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh15504.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	1855689   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62202.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	1855690  
Old 02-24-2013, 07:28 AM
  #47  
jefflangton
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Can someone tell me how to get pics up?? Theyre all on my android phone, didnt know if its possible. Thanks
Old 02-24-2013, 08:03 AM
  #48  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

Here is my 2013 crash. My first scratch built stick (built like a tank) from '78 started giving me control issues with a violent down elevator deflection when passing by a point on landing approach. You can read here if you want: www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11396585/anchors_11405015/mpage_1/key_/anchor/tm.htm#11405015
On my sixth flight after trying to remedy the issue by changing all of the electronics in the plane it did it again ...twice and the second time it was too close to the ground , couldn't quite get it upright in time and it plowed in on the skis and nose.
The 35 year old epoxy finally gave it up and it actually exploded into an ARA kit ! The wing had some minor saddle damage and the fuselage had a 3" piece of plank damage on the bottom and the elevator cracked. Otherwise it broke apart fairly clean at the seams !
I've got it back togther and changed the 440 rods to carbon fiber as that is the only thing left to change out. If it does it again it must be possessed!


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10391.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	170.0 KB
ID:	1855709   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw72974.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	1855710   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch95348.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	1855711   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pi17165.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	139.4 KB
ID:	1855712  
Old 02-24-2013, 08:57 AM
  #49  
jeffEE
My Feedback: (5)
 
jeffEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: farmingtom, MN
Posts: 1,571
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes

The end of an Astro Hog. I am trying to figure out how to put it all back together, Nate, the pilot is trying to figure out what happened, and his younger brother( in the middle) is trying to keep from laughing out loud.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18541.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	189.8 KB
ID:	1855735  
Old 02-24-2013, 09:21 AM
  #50  
radfordc
My Feedback: (14)
 
radfordc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lansing, KS
Posts: 1,598
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Do you have a problem showing your crashes


ORIGINAL: jefflangton

Can someone tell me how to get pics up?? Theyre all on my android phone, didnt know if its possible. Thanks

I email the pics to myself and then load them to the PC.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.