Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Robart (Ziroli) P-47 "Gabby" version

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Robart (Ziroli) P-47 "Gabby" version

Old 08-07-2013, 09:23 AM
  #1  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robart (Ziroli) P-47 "Gabby" version

This huge shipping box showed up this past week with a beautiful 20% Robart composite P-47 in the Gabby Gabreski color scheme. This is a special project that I am not at liberty to mention at this time but it will not be mine. I also got a set of Robart electric retracts and tailwheel for the project.

This is the very latest version and all the rivet and panel line details look perfect.

Much prefabrication and details and so far, I'll need at least 13 servos.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1303.jpg
Views:	737
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	1905812   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1307.jpg
Views:	1759
Size:	91.5 KB
ID:	1905813   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1312.jpg
Views:	729
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	1905814   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1314.jpg
Views:	621
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	1905815  

Last edited by pettit; 08-08-2013 at 05:18 AM.
Old 08-07-2013, 12:46 PM
  #2  
Ram-bro
My Feedback: (101)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 5,779
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

did nt realize they had an ARF version.
Old 08-07-2013, 02:36 PM
  #3  
JPate147
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That will be one very large model at 200% Sam
Old 08-08-2013, 05:17 AM
  #4  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OOPS! Slip of the digits. Its been edited.
Old 08-08-2013, 05:38 AM
  #5  
BOLTMAN
My Feedback: (1)
 
BOLTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bundaberg, Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Other than the paint job, I can't see any real difference between that and the first edition Robart P-47 that I have.
We definitely need to see lots more pics!!!!
Old 08-12-2013, 07:10 AM
  #6  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robart Gabby P-47 ARF

Lots of work done this past weekend. Still no servos so I did other stuff

I installed the servo tray and built the carbon fiber pushrods.

Epoxied the stabs to the fuselage, installed the rudder and added the pull-pull.

Mounted the Robart electric tail wheel and hinged the doors.

Bolted the firewall to the fuselage and installed the cowl.

Cut out the canopy and windshield but didn't glue permanently yet.

DA-85 on the way.

Looks like those fuselage vents may hold the radio switches! (see next post)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1316.JPG
Views:	772
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	1907190   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1318.JPG
Views:	570
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	1907191   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1324.JPG
Views:	683
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	1907192   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1327.JPG
Views:	596
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	1907193   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1329.JPG
Views:	620
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	1907194  

Last edited by pettit; 08-12-2013 at 07:13 AM.
Old 08-12-2013, 07:12 AM
  #7  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1322.JPG
Views:	1054
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	1907197   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1325.JPG
Views:	441
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	1907204   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1326.JPG
Views:	474
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	1907205  

Last edited by pettit; 08-12-2013 at 07:16 AM.
Old 08-12-2013, 07:47 AM
  #8  
Capt G
My Feedback: (8)
 
Capt G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,411
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

do you know if these are available from Robart yet?
Old 08-12-2013, 10:22 AM
  #9  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I got one, so they must be available.
Old 08-13-2013, 11:13 AM
  #10  
Growler84
My Feedback: (8)
 
Growler84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 263
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I noticed some nice improvements from the V1 I have. They really cleaned up the empennage by integrating the elevator and rudder control linkages in a much more scale fashion. I don't have the rudder from mine sitting here for comparison right now but it looks like there is more rivet and panel detail on the V2 rudder. I see the rear jack pad has been added and the oil cooler doors up in front of the supercharger waste gate opening are a lot more scale in appearance. The fuselage hatch/canopy section is longer no doubt to accommodate access to the more-forward located servo tray, which is another good improvement. It looks like there are holes in the fuselage hatch rails to accept dowels, which is required on the V1 as well to prevent the fuselage from flexing and the hatch departing in flight (so I've been told).

Overall these are good changes from what I can see so far.
Old 08-30-2013, 03:31 AM
  #11  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Update: More parts arrived

I got a package from Down and Locked who sent several items for this project. I also installed the retracts and wheels into the wings. A 1/4" spacer is needed to keep the tires from rubbing the gear leg and I used an aluminum engine mount spacer that works perfectly. Please excuse the dust on the wheel!

The Down and Locked items are: new electric retract control unit (left), Gear door programmer (center), standalone gear actuator that runs the gear up and down without a receiver (right) and the orange unit on the bottom is an electronic kill switch and voltage regulator.

The servos should get here today. I am using Hitec 5645 HD digitals on major flight surfaces, and micros for the inner gear doors. Standard digitals on throttle and choke. I will use my Hitec programmer to reverse one flap and one elevator servo and maybe slow both flap servos down a little.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1333.JPG
Views:	572
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	1914717   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1337.JPG
Views:	454
Size:	113.7 KB
ID:	1914718   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1338.JPG
Views:	500
Size:	192.6 KB
ID:	1914719  

Last edited by pettit; 08-30-2013 at 03:33 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 10-16-2013, 07:48 AM
  #12  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

More progress on the Jug. Just about ready for engine testing and then test flights.

Any thoughts on the way I will mount the Da-85 to the firewall?









Old 10-21-2013, 04:53 AM
  #13  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I took the fuselage outside, bolted on the wings and marked the CG on the tops of the wing panels as specified in the manual (1 1/2" behind leading edge) I set the plane on my Pro Balancer with the balance point at this point (see photo)

The tail dropped like a rock!

To get it to balance, it took all the lead seen in the photo. BTW, that's 6 pounds of lead!

Servos are at the place seen in the manual, right at the CG. All batteries are strapped to the tank box. The gear was retracted and the cockpit installed.

Any other Robart P-47 owners out there have this situation?


Old 10-22-2013, 09:30 AM
  #14  
JeffH
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,281
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I would have to come up with a better engine mounting solution. I would be afraid that those long, skinny standoffs would allow too much flex and would evenutally fail. There are some mounts available that are made from aluminum and are box-like but have large windows in the side of them to allow access to the carb. The lead bolted to the engine plate will make that much more stress on the standoffs.
Old 10-24-2013, 04:06 AM
  #15  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

JeffH: Those long skinny standoffs have 1/4' steel bolts running all the way through them.

I also recalculated and re-measured the CG point on the wings, finding I was at least 1/2" off. This reduced the necessary nose weight for balance by 2 1/2 pounds.
Old 10-25-2013, 05:10 PM
  #16  
bladerunner1955
My Feedback: (72)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just received my P-47 from Robart today in perfect condition, finishing up a Byron corsair and should be working on this P-47 in a couple months or until I get some extra cash under my belt. I however would love to see some more information in this thread from Mr. Pettit. Very good information I have gathered from every one of his threads, Thanks Mr. Pettit
Old 10-26-2013, 03:14 AM
  #17  
f4u1 pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Dick, Verify your cg balance point at Robart. version 1 is 5.5" back from leading edge.
Old 10-26-2013, 04:05 AM
  #18  
Check6
My Feedback: (427)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: N. Scituate, RI
Posts: 1,735
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by f4u1 pilot View Post
Hi Dick, Verify your cg balance point at Robart. version 1 is 5.5" back from leading edge.
I agree. I have never seen any fighter balanced at 1 1/12 from the leading edge. My TF GS P 47 is balanced at 5 1/2 in. from leading edge.
Old 10-26-2013, 04:07 AM
  #19  
f4u1 pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just checked website it shows 5.5"at the root.
Old 10-26-2013, 04:09 AM
  #20  
f4u1 pilot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Windsor, ON, CANADA
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Maybe a typo. balancer pic appears to be further back than 1.5"
Old 10-27-2013, 07:17 PM
  #21  
FokkerD7
My Feedback: (5)
 
FokkerD7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, OH
Posts: 374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=pettit;11643279]I took the fuselage outside, bolted on the wings and marked the CG on the tops of the wing panels as specified in the manual (1 1/2" behind leading edge) I set the plane on my Pro Balancer with the balance point at this point (see photo)

The tail dropped like a rock!

To get it to balance, it took all the lead seen in the photo. BTW, that's 6 pounds of lead!

Servos are at the place seen in the manual, right at the CG. All batteries are strapped to the tank box. The gear was retracted and the cockpit installed.

Any other Robart P-47 owners out there have this situation?

Mr. Pettit I have the version 1 and used tge same standoffs lije you have. I mounted my alum plate to the firewall. That way the standoffs would not dig into the glassed firewall. My CG I changed from 5.5 " to 5.75" from leading edge at tge wing sattle. Hope this helps if you were looking for any . If not sorry for the input.
Old 10-28-2013, 03:14 AM
  #22  
pettit
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yep, that first post was DEFINITELY a typo. I started at 5 1/2" back but actually put my tape marks at about 5" back. After re measuring and markings could remove lots of weight
Old 11-20-2013, 03:16 PM
  #23  
FokkerD7
My Feedback: (5)
 
FokkerD7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, OH
Posts: 374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mr. Pettit just checking to see whats going on lately. Just wondering if you had your maiden yet.
Old 05-24-2015, 02:11 PM
  #24  
patrnflyr
My Feedback: (7)
 
patrnflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I know this is an old thread... Does anybody know if this is still available? Wondering about a Saito R84 gasser.
Old 05-25-2015, 07:51 AM
  #25  
FokkerD7
My Feedback: (5)
 
FokkerD7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, OH
Posts: 374
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes V2 is available and requires a 3.7 c.i. or larger. You can find it on Robart.com

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.