Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Sachs 4.2 fuel tank size?

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Sachs 4.2 fuel tank size?

Old 04-07-2014, 02:40 PM
  #1  
foodstick
Thread Starter
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,561
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Sachs 4.2 fuel tank size?

What do you guys think would be big enough for this motor? I am putting it in a Nosen P51 and have a fair amount of room. I am not looking to fly over 12 minutes..I would guess 9-10 min flights with reserve. Also have any of you tried those tanks with the internal rotating brass fuel pickups? ( the name escapes me) They were kind of pricey, but I would appreciate any good or bad reviews about them.

Thanks for any help..
Old 04-07-2014, 03:11 PM
  #2  
MarvinLoomis
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mankato, KS
Posts: 157
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got the 4.2 sachs in a Byron Corsair. It has a 24 oz tank, and you better be on the ground in about 18 minutes.
Old 04-07-2014, 03:59 PM
  #3  
chris923
My Feedback: (53)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: milwaukee, WI
Posts: 941
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The tanks your talking about are Roto Flow tanks. This will be my 4 season in my gassers with Roto Flow tanks. I have never had a issue with them, well of 200 flights.
Old 04-08-2014, 03:06 AM
  #4  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,614
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I've been using quart tanks (32oz) for my Sachs 4.2s. I never worry about running low on gas. If your Nosen P-51 has the room, you may want to consider the larger size.
Old 04-08-2014, 07:26 AM
  #5  
foodstick
Thread Starter
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,561
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Well I was tempted by the larger tank, but I think a 24 oz will be good for me. I don't tend to make really long flights, and I have a buddy that lost a HUGE Corsair because his throttle servo froze up and he had a giant tank with the kill switch running off the throttle servo....battery ran out and it went in wide open...

I suppose there will always be problems no matter what route you take.. I will probably second guess this now all day ! hahahah
Thanks for the input guys.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.