Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Hawker Hurricane 3meters

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Hawker Hurricane 3meters

Old 02-03-2020, 10:21 PM
  #1  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hawker Hurricane 3meters

Hey guys,

i got this Hurricane from france. It was build out of an upscaled plan and has 3 Meters wingspan.
The model and all the details on the surfaces are insane, this is why i wanted to do a refit to is. spezially because they are so rare on the aitfield.
it was equipped with an 3W150 inline. as good as the wood build was done, as bad is everything that has to do with the RC stuff. so i started to redo everything to make it really airworthy



Last edited by Ixtrim; 02-03-2020 at 10:56 PM.
Old 02-03-2020, 11:00 PM
  #2  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

first of all i start with engine install :

cut the firewall and make enough room for an serious engine


Old 02-03-2020, 11:02 PM
  #3  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Place the new firewall:

measure the engine lengh back and take care on the angles given on the cowling. this will give later a similar gap from cowling to spinner backplate



Last edited by Ixtrim; 02-03-2020 at 11:07 PM.
Old 02-03-2020, 11:04 PM
  #4  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

this is the way to place the engine at the right spot. its too heavy to hold it by hand while finding the perfect place....


Last edited by Ixtrim; 02-03-2020 at 11:09 PM.
Old 02-03-2020, 11:10 PM
  #5  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

if you are lucky, it will look like this :-)

Old 02-04-2020, 10:22 AM
  #6  
Flyfast1
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 943
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Nice project. What engine will you be installing?

-Ed B.
Old 02-04-2020, 10:26 PM
  #7  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

the 3W150 needed nearly 3 Kilos lead i the nose. so i decided to go with an heavier engine.

The IL150-3 fits totally unter the cowling.

Old 02-04-2020, 10:35 PM
  #8  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

then i started to rebuild the cowl. big holes from the 3W, gas fittings and unusual cooling.



Old 02-05-2020, 10:11 PM
  #9  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

changed all horns and linkages on the flaps. horns way too small - caused bad angles


Old 02-05-2020, 10:20 PM
  #10  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

To find out if the plane is all the work worth, i decided to do a quick test flight.
installt all the rc quickly and flew without cowling (no baffles so far).
lot of weight was needed in the nose, so i builded quickly a rack to carry that :-)

was a cold winter day, but the result was very good. decided to go on.
short videos you can find in my FB- account.


Old 02-07-2020, 04:06 AM
  #11  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

next step was the center section of the wing.
Someone tried to build this plane with less then 25Kilos (law regulation) and installed the mounts for electron ER40.
Way too small for a big bird like this. also the carbon fiber struts broke both at the test flight first time they touched the ground.
and for some reasons (scale optic gear) someine cuttet a very important stringer. had also to replace it.




Old 02-11-2020, 02:44 AM
  #12  
Ixtrim
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default




Gear is in, Firewall got some carbonfiber and the ducted fan took place to do the cooling later.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.