Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Old 08-19-2005, 01:11 AM
  #1  
bwillhite
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

OK, I am getting ready to start building the Top-Flite .60-sized Sea Fury kit and need to know if the OS .61 FX will really fly this airplane.

Will it? I want nice scale power and speed.

Thanks

Brian
Old 08-19-2005, 09:56 AM
  #2  
Richard L.
My Feedback: (24)
 
Richard L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 8,788
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

It will if you keep the plane light, say under 10 lbs.

Here is one flying with an OS 120FS: [link=http://www.warbirdobsession.com/tf_sea_fury/video.wmv]TF Sea Fury Video[/link]
Old 08-19-2005, 02:57 PM
  #3  
Richard L.
My Feedback: (24)
 
Richard L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 8,788
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

On the other hand, using an OS .61FX also requires adding between 1.5 - 2 lbs of extra lead in the nose to balance the plane.
Old 08-19-2005, 03:29 PM
  #4  
bwillhite
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Richard,

Looks like a Saito 1.20 would do the trick...what prop is the plane in the video running, very impressive performance.

Brian
Old 08-19-2005, 03:37 PM
  #5  
britbrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Deep River, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,299
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

If you go with the 61, try putting the throttle servo & battery in front of the firewall, beneath the cowling, & shift the other servos forward (if possible) to reduce the amount of balast needed.
Old 08-19-2005, 03:53 PM
  #6  
submikester
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 1,406
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Throttle back and put the 91 FX in - it's the same physical size from what I understand (I don't spend on OS engines).
Old 08-19-2005, 04:22 PM
  #7  
Hellcat716
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Hellcat716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,266
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

I am using the YS 91. Great engine for this plane. Required very little nose weight.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19516.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	312430  
Old 08-19-2005, 04:29 PM
  #8  
Richard L.
My Feedback: (24)
 
Richard L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 8,788
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX


ORIGINAL: bwillhite

Richard,

Looks like a Saito 1.20 would do the trick...what prop is the plane in the video running, very impressive performance.
Brian, the plane is running a Graupner 15x8 2-blade prop.
Old 09-23-2005, 09:20 PM
  #9  
Timthetoolman1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Timthetoolman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 977
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Yea! I got mine tonight, it was too good a deal to pass up. The guy that had it started the horizontal stabilizer, but it will need to be rebuilt, and he lost interest. It was an early Christmas, I'll probably get the engine and retracts by then too. It will get a Saito 1.20 and I'll look at retracts but they will probably be Robart. I will hold off on the giant scale plane for now and practice building techniques on this one.
Old 09-23-2005, 10:22 PM
  #10  
daw
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
daw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kouts, IN
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Mine weighs 12 lbs and flies well on an OS91 turning a APC 15-6. Not a speed demon but most flights are at 3/4 throttle. It took 11ouces on the engine mount so a 120 would be a good choice.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71418.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	328442  
Old 09-23-2005, 10:41 PM
  #11  
bwillhite
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Thanks all, looks like a winter project!

Brian
Old 10-18-2005, 10:04 PM
  #12  
Timthetoolman1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Timthetoolman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 977
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

Daw, what landing gear did you use?
Old 10-18-2005, 10:27 PM
  #13  
WarbirdAirRacer
My Feedback: (16)
 
WarbirdAirRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: centennial, CO
Posts: 737
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

I'd run a YS 120 or 140 I've ran YS'es in my TF P-40, P-47, and P-51s.
Old 10-18-2005, 11:05 PM
  #14  
daw
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
daw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kouts, IN
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

I used Robart 90 degree 605HD One thing to point out is from the front the gear lean in. I would make an effort to mount the gear blocks to fix that but still allow the gear to retract into the wing. I've read about this same gear lean from other owners. I haven't really had a problem from it but it makes your mind wonder on final hoping the gear is down and locked.
Old 10-19-2005, 12:27 AM
  #15  
Richard L.
My Feedback: (24)
 
Richard L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 8,788
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX


ORIGINAL: WarbirdAirRacer

I'd run a YS 120 or 140 I've ran YS'es in my TF P-40, P-47, and P-51s.
I run YS engines in all my warbirds also. Those engines rock!
Old 10-19-2005, 04:05 PM
  #16  
WarbirdAirRacer
My Feedback: (16)
 
WarbirdAirRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: centennial, CO
Posts: 737
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Sea Fury and OS .61FX

ORIGINAL: Richard L.


ORIGINAL: WarbirdAirRacer

I'd run a YS 120 or 140 I've ran YS'es in my TF P-40, P-47, and P-51s.
I run YS engines in all my warbirds also. Those engines rock!

INDEED

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.