Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Taking off with flaps deployed?

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Taking off with flaps deployed?

Old 10-17-2005, 04:26 AM
cruzomatic
My Feedback: (17)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taking off with flaps deployed?

Thinking of taking off my WM P51D 60 size with a bit of flaps deployed. For you all who have flaps on your planes, do you deploy them down a bit before take off say 15 degrees or so? I've been flying it for about 4-5 months now and have never used flaps for take off, just getting a bit curious I guess. I'm interested in what you all do. Lemme know what you think.

thanks,
Old 10-17-2005, 05:19 AM
Peter_OZ
Banned
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Taking off with flaps deployed?

full size would probably have had on about 5 degrees.

15 no way

nope never use flaps on takeoff, not needed.
Old 10-17-2005, 05:20 AM
miklos
My Feedback: (38)

I have deployable flaps on my Hangar9 Mustant PTS (added optional flap servo), and it makes take offs a lot easier. Plane needs much shorter takeoff run, and on landing glides forever with flaps down.
Old 10-17-2005, 08:35 AM
mcarleno

On the full size, flaps optional on take off but could be deployed up to 20 Degrees (reference pilot check list). The P51 flaps at 20 degrees where rated to 275 MPH. If operating from long good condition field, usually none; however, short fields 15-20 was not uncommon. If you run with move than just a few, your tail will come up quick and it will want to nose over, so don't give to much and watch elevator or you'll grind your prop!
Old 10-17-2005, 09:19 AM
daw
My Feedback: (6)