Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

$$$ Retracts

Old 04-20-2003, 04:14 AM
EVOL
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $$$ Retracts

this is a little off topic for this section but......does anyone else think that the price of scale retracts is waaaaaay beyond acceptable? im not sure what goes into the construction of one of these and understand that the companies have a harsh market to deal with....... but being a flight student myself and trying to build RC planes is a power struggle for money. i mean sure you can go with regular retracts but if your going to spend all of the time and money to build a scale warbird doesn't it deserve the matching gear? maybe I'm too picky from building scale plastic models for years but i was sizing up the pica Fw-190 and on the list of parts was the gear for $300 + dollars. i cant justify spending that much on two little pieces of folding metal. that $300 could get me almost 4 hours of real flying time or 2 months of food lol. anyway i want to know what you all think.......
Old 04-20-2003, 04:33 AM
elmshoot
My Feedback: (6)

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Pricey Retracts

The price is what the market will bear. Yes it is expensive, try a set of BVM brakes and wheels at $180 plus. They work very well. I worry about spending $100 for a tire for my car. Its all relative. It sounds like you are starting out in life as well as modeling. The expensive stuff can wait you don't need the super duper scale retracts until you are many scale planes down the road. Unless you are competing with your plane close enough will work. Most of the modelers that buy these gear don't need them they just have the means to buy them. I am one who has the means but I normaly don't buy the $600 gear when $250 will work. However I demand quality.
Sparky
Old 04-20-2003, 04:51 AM
Lake Flyer
My Feedback: (13)

Default $$$ Retracts

Try paying for them in Canadian Pesos