Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Where are you hiding your switches?

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Where are you hiding your switches?

Old 07-10-2003, 08:42 AM
  #1  
NE0
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
NE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 1,194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

Curious as to where most of you are "hiding" your switches on your warbirds. I seldom see external switches on the nicer warbirds, and can't figure out what you're doing with them?

I've got 2 switches, 2 charging jacks, air system fill valve, air pressure gauge, fuel fill dot... I think that's it... I can't figure out where to hide this stuff so it doesn't ruin the scale appearance?

I've been told that you need to keep your kill switch for the ignition external and "easily accessible" for emergencies (on gassers) but I never see those kill switches on warbirds. When I went to the Toledo show, I didn't see one switch or filler valve on a single warbird! Are warbird builders compromising safety for appearance?

I know some guys hide them behind access hatches. But, the two storage hatches on my SBD are half way between the cockpit and the tail on each side of the fuse. I'd hate to have to run all that wiring and airline all the way back there and double back up to the front to complete the loop.

Neo
Old 07-10-2003, 12:00 PM
  #2  
p-47 razorback pilot
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
p-47 razorback pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: austin, TX
Posts: 824
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SWITCHS

good question... am building a byron corsair and trying to figure that out myself, have same number of switchs...hope someone helps us
Old 07-10-2003, 12:32 PM
  #3  
ww2birds
My Feedback: (14)
 
ww2birds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 1,367
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default hiding switches

I have seen three techniques successfully to hide switches.

First, and you mentioned it already, scale or scale-like hatches with magnetic catches. On my Aerotech P47, the ignition on/off and charge jack is under one such panel on the font of the fuse right behind the cowl. I leave it open during startup for fast access in case of emergency.

Second, on my Yellow Zero, I "hid" the ignition switch and chage jack under the top lip of the cowl so that it is visible only from the rear of the plane, and easily accessible to the helper during start ... and invisible elsewhere. Worked out well on that plane since there is about a 3/4" gap between the cowl and the fuse at that point.

Third, on my Bearcat, the canopy area is removable with two of the BVM spring loaded pins, and all the switches are inside .. and we leave the canopy off while starting .. of all three approaches, this one is the most "questionable" since access takes a few seconds if the canopy is put back on...

And, on some of my "to fly (alot)" vs. super-scale warbirds, the switches are mounted in the fuse sides per std practice...


Dave
Old 07-10-2003, 01:41 PM
  #4  
foxx
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere in the west
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

Neo this is what the black magic is all about. On Fw190-D9 I have everything under the gun-hood.
Old 07-10-2003, 11:50 PM
  #5  
NE0
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
NE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 1,194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

ww2birds,

Thanks, makes sense. I think I'll be in the same scenario as you were in your "second scenario" with my kill switch. I've got a similar gap between my firewall perimiter and the back edge of my radial cowl. I might just set up that switch there.

Still not sure about the air system valves and radio switch. I might even be able to "hide" the radio switch in the gunner's radio compartment when I build the cockpit up. Kinda ironic... puttin' the "radio switch" in the scale gunner's "radio compartment"?

Foxx,

You tricky devil... so that's why they call you "foxx"?

What about your gas filler/fuel dot... same place? Seems like you might risk getting gas in/on your switches if so??

Neo
Old 07-10-2003, 11:52 PM
  #6  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

BT Jug, not finished, just roughed in...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	92970_2090.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	53437  
Old 07-10-2003, 11:56 PM
  #7  
randocommando
Member
 
randocommando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

In my Pica FW190D I mounted the switches in the cockpit. I made a sliding cockpit and hid the switch and recharge plug in back of the pilots seat.
Old 07-11-2003, 12:11 AM
  #8  
NE0
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
NE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 1,194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

Burl,

Cool! Thanks for the pic (I'm a "visual" person). I've got some of those hinges you're using. What about that latch?

Awesome looking planking job... how'd you form the door for the hatch?

Neo
Old 07-11-2003, 12:22 AM
  #9  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

thanks NEO, I knew you would appreciate pics
The planking was..well, a pain in the arse! but well worth it!
The door is actually the planking? I decided where I wanted
the hatch, marked it, and cut it out. I CA'd the back side for some strength, and attached the Sonictronic hinges as shown. I can snap more pics if nec.

The latch is from BVM. I was on there site one night looking at cool carbon fibre stuff, and ordered a few things I didnt need
Well, I found a "need" for one of the parts I ordered!

works very well. got the main idea from a good ole British bloke back east from his website originally

Todd
Old 07-11-2003, 12:27 AM
  #10  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

closed............
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	92978_2090.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	53438  
Old 07-11-2003, 12:28 AM
  #11  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

open.............
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	92980_2090.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	53439  
Old 07-11-2003, 12:39 AM
  #12  
fw190d9
My Feedback: (1)
 
fw190d9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seguin, TX
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hatches

NEO, Here is a link to page 3 of my 109 build up. I built 2 seperate hatches for switches. The one up front is for the ignition kill switch. It is in the scale location for the oil tank filler on the full size. The rear is for the radio switches and air fill. It is in the rear hatch location on the full size.
http://www.homestead.com/evoshangar/me109page3.html

I also have this same setup on my spitfire:
http://www.homestead.com/evoshangar/spitfireII.html

Evan Q.
Old 07-11-2003, 01:01 AM
  #13  
barnyard
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 182
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

I like the hatch setup, but went to BVM website and couldn't find the latches ot hinges. Did I miss them? Or are they not listed on the WEB?
Old 07-11-2003, 01:26 AM
  #14  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

go to "accesories", than to "accesories" than down to carbon fibre molded accesories
Old 07-11-2003, 01:57 AM
  #15  
chuck l
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 1,427
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

What is the web address for BVM?
Old 07-11-2003, 02:00 AM
  #16  
t_burley
My Feedback: (59)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,470
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

bvmjets.com
Old 07-11-2003, 03:32 AM
  #17  
Devo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ravensdale, WA,
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

A good place to hide the air filler port is in the wheel well.

I made my on-off switch for my radio resemble a pitot tube.
Old 07-11-2003, 04:14 AM
  #18  
ProfLooney
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 3,259
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default hidden switches

Also you can hide switches in easily and quickly acessible places. On warbirds you can use the guns as switch levers. since there is a chance of bumping accidentally to off position just pudh in your gun for on and pull for off. the hatches everyone is showing workes great for fillers etc. I have also seen a guy use his antenna mast as a switch push in for on pull for off.

Joe
Old 07-11-2003, 12:13 PM
  #19  
NE0
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
NE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 1,194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where are you hiding your switches?

Wow, a lot of great ideas I never would have thought of. This gives me some options to explore. What kills me is that 12-14 inch "nuetral zone" that I have to maintain between my engine components and radio/servo components (RF issues). That and limited "scale hatches" eliminates a lot of possibilities, but still should be able to find something.

You can't imagine how "little room" I have left inside my fuse for this stuff when you factor in the smaller 1/6 scale, the 14" nuetral zone, and a full 2-man cockpit with a floor that goes almost down to the wing! Gettin' real crowded in their now!

Thanks,

Neo
Old 12-19-2003, 11:01 AM
  #20  
NE0
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
NE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newark, OH
Posts: 1,194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Where are you hiding your switches?

Follow up... issue resolved...

[link]http://www.renderwurx.com/rc/SBD/html/building/switches.htm[/link]

Tom









Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.