Notices
RCV Engines Support Ask RCV Technical Support all your RCV engine questions!

120SP idle question

Old 09-28-2009, 11:00 PM
  #1  
mistral12
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: granbury, TX
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 120SP idle question

I have just purchased a 120SP. Got it running on the bench with 1.5 gallons of Omega10. Engine is running ok at mid and high with little vibration. But, I am having trouble with the idle. At less that 2000 it wants to die. Dumb question but the instructions talk about adjusting the idle needle but where is it? Is it under the carb and is it the small flat head screw? Also, the instructions talk about the "secondary needle" under running in instuctions what is that? DO I need to break in more before I get good idle?
Old 09-29-2009, 11:59 AM
  #2  
bugerdup
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: sarnia, ON, CANADA
Posts: 34
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 120SP idle question

yes, the idle adjust screw is in the throttle barrel. I had the same problem at idle, let it warm up a bit so every thing is at operating temp then let it idle and do your adjustments with the engine warmed up. the more fuel you put through it the better.
Old 10-01-2009, 06:36 PM
  #3  
Joe Lott
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Killen, AL
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 120SP idle question

Hey Mistral,

I guess there aren't many people watching this forum these days.

Give this a try. It might work for you. Start your engine up as you normally do and let it warm up for about a minute or so. After it is warm, take it to full throttle and adjust to max rpm with the main needle screw. Once you've found max rpm, richen it with 3 or 4 counterclockwise clicks of the main needle and throttle back slowly and see how low it will idle.

I'm guessing you are either running too rich or too lean. If after you've done this, it will not idle at around 1500 rpm, you may need to tweak the idle screw. If you do it, only move it 1/8 turn max at a time. It's pretty sensitive. RCV says that the idle screw is usually pretty close to correct from the factory. You will probably need to shut it off to make these idle screw adjustments.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.