RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Redcat Racing Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/)
-   -   new redcat volcano epx (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/10890448-new-redcat-volcano-epx.html)

alexsamsdad 01-03-2012 06:33 PM

new redcat volcano epx

Hi, newbie here. I bought my son a new redcat volcano epx for xmas. I am having problems keeping the steering tight. I tighten the little silver thumb wheel on the steering, and it loosens with just a couple of minutes of turning the wheels back, and forth. You can feel it back itself off with each turn. Any fix for this? Another problem, is the charger stopped woking after the first time. I would like to buy a extra battery and new charger, what should I buy? Thankyou for your time</p>

nitrosportsandrunner 01-03-2012 06:52 PM

RE: new redcat volcano epx

ORIGINAL: alexsamsdad

Hi, newbie here. I bought my son a new redcat volcano epx for xmas. I am having problems keeping the steering tight. I tighten the little silver thumb wheel on the steering, and it loosens with just a couple of minutes of turning the wheels back, and forth. You can feel it back itself off with each turn. Any fix for this? Another problem, is the charger stopped woking after the first time. I would like to buy a extra battery and new charger, what should I buy? Thank you for your time</p>
Hi, i went to my hobby room and pulled out a lightening epx pro parts chassis i have and starred at it to try and figure out your problem.

the silver thumb wheel (servo saver adjustment nut) should be only 1-2mm above the black plastic servo saver.

If its that tight(close the the servo saver) then it shouldnt back off (in this case, go up)

that silver wheel puts pressure on a spring, which keep the 2 halves of the servo saver together. when there is a shock to the wheels tho, the spring allows the have to move independant, and thus not transfer the shock to the servo.