Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Kombat Armadillo

Old 06-07-2011, 01:54 PM
1lasportsman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kombat Armadillo

Kombat Armadillo
<hr size="1" style="background-color: #a7a7a7; color: #a7a7a7" />
I have an old Armadillo it flies great but lands like a brick.
If you cut or lower power it is going to land.I was wondering if I move the wing forward would it help with the landing or would it make a large difference? I was looking to just move the wing Fwd about 4 inches.
The plane weighs 6.2 lbs.
I guess i Just keep moving the wing Up and keep checking the CG on it as long as I keep it nose heavy. I am really new to this but I just like this plane.
Moved the wing up and was really tail heavy. can I just move the tail fwd and make the plane shorter to get the CG back nose heavy
How does a short stubby plane fly conpared to a long plane fly?
Old 06-10-2011, 11:28 AM
joeskeeter
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Kombat Armadillo

I'm trimming weight on my ultra-spadstik.

Mine drops when i cut throttle.

I think you need to figure cg better, with that online cg calculator ,
then everybody says do something like up to 5% nose heavy is the best.
So I follow this on the other plane i have, the nexstar and lately
it's been flying good and the landings are fianlly getting real easy.
Old 09-07-2011, 10:39 AM
Al Stein

Landing like a brick is all about wing loading the 'Dillo has a lot of weight for its wing area, and that defines to high wing loading. For a heavily loaded wing, the only choices are to go fast or fall.