Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Spa3d music wire

Old 01-15-2004, 04:29 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Flying Scotsman 70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Leatherhead, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spa3d music wire

i want to fly my spad asap and dont have the music wire will this make it unflyable
Old 01-15-2004, 05:02 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wichita, KS,
Posts: 2,123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spa3d music wire

Yes and no.

High alpha very slow flight may be ok, but if you put power to it, your wing could flutter/distort and it could become quickly uncontrolable. You may also get opposite aileron flex between the aileron going one way forcing the wing to flex the opposite way, also causing an uncontrolable airplane. You may also experience aileron "lock" where the wing flexes or bows enough so that the servo simply can't move it. Not to mention that a hight G turn could fold the wing. In my opinion, flying it without the music wire is not safe unles you are a very experience pilot and restrict your flying to very slow/low throttle/high alpha flight.
Old 01-15-2004, 05:44 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spa3d music wire

I think the music wire is very important. I've already flown mine and I plan on increasing the length of the music wire on the aileron flex joint for the full entire length of the wing. Already bought it in fact... Theres very little that is superfluous and not needed....
Old 01-15-2004, 07:30 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Caledonia, MS
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spa3d music wire

6-32 threaded rod makes good substitute for piano wire. Can get at Lowes, etc., if they don't have anypiano wire.

Flip
Old 01-18-2004, 01:53 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 214
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spa3d music wire

Surprising i havent used the MW in any of my spa3ds no problems yet

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.