Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Debonair CG Question

Old 01-20-2004, 07:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Debonair CG Question

Hi, I have built a nice Deb and have managed to keep the weight down conciderably compared to my first one. My new one comes in at about 5.5 lbs. But My tail is heavy. Using the plans I have, they say to test CG at the forward spar. If I go to the rear spar its nose heavy. So its pretty close. But I am fairly new at this and wanted your thoughts. I hate to add weight to it [having kept it to a min]. I already have my batt and reciever fwd. And I made the mistake of mounting the wing already. [I thought I would be close enough].
Thanks Keester
Old 01-20-2004, 07:50 PM

Default RE: Debonair CG Question

If it's that close try flying it. Then you'll know if you need to correct the CG. If so, try a spinner - very little weight, but it might be enough.
Old 01-20-2004, 08:31 PM

if the cg isn't on the front spar, don't fly it. Chances are it won't fly well otherwise. The simplest solution is to just remount the wing. Drill a new set of holes, and install another set of dowels.
Old 01-20-2004, 09:49 PM

ORIGINAL: ChrisSpad

if the cg isn't on the front spar, don't fly it.
That was my original thought, Chris. But according to the plans the front and rear spars are 1-inch apart. And he mentions the plane is nose-heavy if he balances at the rear spar, tail-heavy if he balances at the front spar. So the CG is off maybe 1/2 or so - if I haven't missed something?

Now your experience is vast. So please tell us, will a 1/2 inch or so make a huge difference in flight characteristics - so much so that the plane shouldn't even be given a test flight? Hmmm! Probably answered my own question .... LOL