Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Is it possible????

Old 03-01-2004, 05:14 PM
  #1  
Steve108
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 311
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it possible????

Can the PBF be used with a non-computer radio?
Old 03-01-2004, 07:42 PM
  #2  
SeacretsOceanCity
Senior Member
 
SeacretsOceanCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Georgetown, DE
Posts: 678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

IN short YES,you can buy a plug and play electronic piece that just plugs into your rec then the servos in to it.Think its around 20 , 30 bux. do a search on RCU to find it.
Old 03-01-2004, 08:16 PM
  #3  
DLSmith2
Senior Member
 
DLSmith2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 528
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

Steve108,

I flew my PBF with a Futaba Skysport 4, non-computer radio. I got the elevon mixer from [link=http://www.bill-tek.com/products.htm]Bill-Tek[/link] and it works great! I even got the exponential adapter for it, too.

Good luck, and don't forget the pics and flight report!

Blue skies,
DL
Old 03-01-2004, 08:20 PM
  #4  
The_Tron
Junior Member
 
The_Tron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MelbourneVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

You could also build one like the mini pbf off the spad originals site: http://www.spadtothebone.com/SPAD/Pizza ... Just scale it up to whatever engine you want to use... Or just add the elevator idea to the pbf plan you are building from.

It has a less conventional setup for a flying wing with an elevator wedged in between the ailerons so no mixing is required. I can't speak for how differently this would fly though.

-Tron
Old 03-01-2004, 08:23 PM
  #5  
Woodsy
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Drouin, Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,751
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

Yep, another way is to split the elevons diferantly,. instead of cutting them in 2 as per plans, cut them in 3 each 1/3 span.
the center one is the elevator and the outside ones are the ailerons just hook up the controls like a normal planonly thing is you need 1 more servo
Old 03-01-2004, 11:17 PM
  #6  
FrankC29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 788
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

Three ways that I know of. Two of them have been mentioned, that is, Splitting the control surfaces into three and using the center surface as an elevator (like the Ciggy Pack plans), an on-board mixer, or this setup called a "sliding tray". It's a bit complicated and I wouldn't do it, however it sure is interesting. Do a search and you'll run into a pic I'm sure.
Old 03-01-2004, 11:24 PM
  #7  
ChrisSpad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cordova, TN,
Posts: 1,528
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

I'm fairly sure Boogerboy uses the sliding tray on all, or most of his pbf's, but, i could be mistaken about that. I know he described how to make one, but, i'm not sure when, or where.
Old 03-01-2004, 11:34 PM
  #8  
msm9724
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft Laud, FL
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

Hi, i have used the great planes slinger elevon mixer on my pbf, and i can guarantee you it will work perfectly http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...er&FVPROFIL=++
Old 03-02-2004, 04:11 PM
  #9  
bhole74
Senior Member
 
bhole74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anderson, MO
Posts: 1,084
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

ORIGINAL: FrankC29

Three ways that I know of. Two of them have been mentioned, that is, Splitting the control surfaces into three and using the center surface as an elevator (like the Ciggy Pack plans), an on-board mixer, or this setup called a "sliding tray". It's a bit complicated and I wouldn't do it, however it sure is interesting. Do a search and you'll run into a pic I'm sure.

I have seen this used, surprised the heck out of me, but it worked.
Old 03-02-2004, 06:54 PM
  #10  
Steve108
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 311
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

ORIGINAL: DLSmith2

Steve108,

I flew my PBF with a Futaba Skysport 4, non-computer radio. I got the elevon mixer from [link=http://www.bill-tek.com/products.htm]Bill-Tek[/link] and it works great! I even got the exponential adapter for it, too.

Good luck, and don't forget the pics and flight report!

Blue skies,
DL
Is the expo adapter only for the Skysport or is it universal? I have a JR400 I'm planning on using.

I guess that yes, it can be done! Thanks!!
Old 03-02-2004, 09:29 PM
  #11  
DLSmith2
Senior Member
 
DLSmith2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 528
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is it possible????

Steve108,

The elevon mixer and expo unit are universal. Let them know what type rx and servos you have and they'll make it compatible. You just plug the servo leads into the mixer (or adapter) and plug it's leads into the receiver. It's really small, kind of like the size of an ESC on a basic electric plane. On my PBF I used both the elevon mixer and expo adapter and it worked like a charm.

Don't forget the pictures!

Blue skies,
DL

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.