Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

how old is your spad

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2004, 09:30 PM
acam37
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how old is your spad

I was just wondering how long a spad will stay airworthy? I've been flying spads for only 6 months and after 5 planes I finally have one that suits my needs. will the coro last as long as a balsa plane? I've heard that the sun and summer heat will weaken and even warp coroplast if exposed long enough. I always put my plane in the shade after each flight to try and prevent this from happening. I want to hear from some old-timers on how long to expect my spad to live.
Old 06-13-2004, 09:52 PM
DLSmith2

Default RE: how old is your spad

Acam37,

My DPS is over a year and many crashes old and still flies well. My Deb is about the same age and has had three different engines on it (testing combinations), and has flown year-round for the last year-plus. I keep checking the wing, fuse, tailfeathers and electrics and nothing seems to be any the worse for wear. If you take as good care of it as you say and make regular checks, you'll have a great plane around for a long time.

Blue skies,
DL
Old 06-13-2004, 10:30 PM
ChrisSpad

i just sold off some of mine. The newest of them was a little over a year old. The oldest had to be at least 3 years old. They all flew just fine. I still have the big gasser thats close to 4 years old. The sun will warp dark coro, but it doesnt really hurt it, just makes it look bad. Now, laying something across the tailfeathers or ailerons will eventually warp them, but, not the sun by itself.
Old 06-13-2004, 10:34 PM
Zombie

ORIGINAL: DLSmith2
My DPS is over a year and many crashes old ...
You mean those DPS "Harrier-to-cartwheel" landings. DL?
Old 06-14-2004, 12:41 AM
Woodsy