Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design
 A question on building wings >

A question on building wings

Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

A question on building wings

Old 04-26-2010, 04:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A question on building wings

I've never built a SPAD before, but I've been looking at the deboair on the spad to the bone web site. My question is, would there be a problem with pop riveting the wing together where the ailerons are sandwitched between the upper and lower wing panels ?-would that affect flight performance or aerodynamics of the airfoil?. My concern woud be, as a first time builder, with all that needs to be done as far as flashing off the coro- the bond could be ify with three layer's bonding simutainiously- any thoughts would be appreceated.
Old 04-26-2010, 05:42 PM

Default RE: A question on building wings

Hi jackpine
Pop rivets will work fine, about one every 4-6 inches. I have seen others do it and all seemed OK. On my SPAD Biplane, listed below, I used a waxed string used for sewing leather to tie everything together. After two years nothing negative has occurred due to the string. I use pop rivets for all of my brackets for connecting the control push/pull rods, rather than the suggested screws. Go for it.
Old 04-26-2010, 05:54 PM

Others have used pop rivets in the past with no problems, use washers on the other side that the rivet will go through.
If the CA works correctly the coro will rip before the glue joint will fail.
Try gluing some scrap pieces together first to get the technique down.

Others use goop to glue coro with good results, I can't take the fumes from it.