Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Scale RC Helicopters
Reload this Page >

Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

Notices
Scale RC Helicopters Discuss scale helis, and modifications to pod and boom helis that make them scale.

Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

Old 12-10-2008, 11:48 AM
  #1  
redbaron9898
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , MN
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

I am building a scale blackhawk and i want to see if i can make or buy the Automatic Stabilizer Control Syatem AKA moving horizontal stabilizer....any ideas?
Old 12-10-2008, 11:51 PM
  #2  
CRAZYRYAN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston , TX
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

yo mean fma direct co-pilot?
Old 12-11-2008, 12:59 PM
  #3  
redbaron9898
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , MN
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

well i figured that it would have to do with gyros or something but do you think it will affect the flight characteristics in a bad way?
Old 12-11-2008, 03:47 PM
  #4  
CRAZYRYAN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston , TX
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

idk what ur talking about but theres another thing out there called the helicommand and its freakin' 550 usd.
Old 12-11-2008, 04:00 PM
  #5  
Bugzilla
Senior Member
 
Bugzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 803
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

I think I might have an idea what you are talking about. Are you talking about incorporating the moving, horizontal tail fin on the rear of the full size Black Hawk that helps to stabilize it during low altitude manuevers and hovering? If I am right, maybe someone else can provide the answer you need because I really have no idea how it could be done automatically. If I am wrong then I apologize.
Old 12-11-2008, 04:12 PM
  #6  
CRAZYRYAN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston , TX
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

search in google heli command it will talk about what it exactly does. you wont be dissapointed and yes it asnwers all the above.
Old 12-11-2008, 04:59 PM
  #7  
Aastan
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

I just bought the Helicommand Rigid for the Vario Large 500E and tested it out a little. At 550, which I paid 495 with my bulk order, it's a steal. I'm running 5 blades on the 500. The 611 is $400 and it only stabilizes the tail the Helicommand does all 3 axis and I can run any tail servo. I currently have the new coreless Hitec 7965MG servo rated @ 6v, 139oz, .10sec. There are other items available that work just as good but I really like the features of the Helicommand.



Old 12-11-2008, 05:04 PM
  #8  
CRAZYRYAN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston , TX
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

yep tried telling the guy.
Old 12-11-2008, 06:00 PM
  #9  
emile Sheriff
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: daleville, AL
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

the confusion here is the use of the word "stabilizer" by redbarron, what he means is stabilator. the movable surface at the rear of the heli. that is quite easy to do especially since it only moves to the level position on the real thng above 30 knots or so. therefore you only need it hanging in the down position during the hover. i slaved mine to the stunt switch so while in the hover i am in normal mode and as i start my climbout, i switch to stunt one position and it comes up to the level position. as far as effects in flight, it will affect it a little but not much because youarent flying the heli fast enough to make it do much.
anyway you need not buy any additional equipment except for a servo to operate the stabilator, but you plug it into a spare channel and use the radio's mixing capability. this of course means you need a radio that has free mixing and enough chanels to do this.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84775.jpg
Views:	811
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	1087755   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av67634.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	1087756   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ns43970.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	1087757  
Old 01-30-2009, 02:48 AM
  #10  
xxkiloxx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Uh-60 blackhawk Automatic Stabilizer Control System

I have to agree with emile Sheriff.... just set it up on a switch of program it in the mixing menu... be very careful though, if you drop the stab during FFF you will see why they used to be called lawn darts. if you have any questions about the stab system of need pics let me know... i work/fly on them all day long....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.