Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Band saw or scroll saw

Old 04-28-2011, 03:10 PM
R. Ortiz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Band saw or scroll saw

I am looking forward to scratch building some RC airplanes and I am thinking of investing in a new power saw. I already own a small table saw but I cannot decide between purchasing a band saw or a scroll saw. I will be cutting mostly balsa and plywood.
I am new at scratch building and would appreciate any information that will help me decide what type of saw I would find more useful. Thanx
Old 04-28-2011, 03:47 PM
limeybob
My Feedback: (6)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Band saw or scroll saw

Scroll Saw. make sure the blade is easy to replace , most are these days.
Read the reviews, especially the sears ones.
These people know what they are talking about,
http://www.sloanswoodshop.com

Buy a good one.
Regards
Bob
Old 04-28-2011, 04:22 PM
Tony Hallo

Received 49 Likes on 47 Posts

I'd say band saw. I've been building from plans since 1989 and only recently purchased a scroll saw, maybe I never took the time to learn how to use the scroll saw? I have a 5" throat metal cuting band saw that cuts everthing from steel to balsa wood with the same blade.

Shop Tools I use the most;
Drill press
Band saw
12" disc sander
9X19 metal lathe

Not so much;
Scroll Saw
Oscillating drum sander

It's niceto have them all however because each has it's own specific use
Old 04-28-2011, 04:34 PM
R. Ortiz

Thank you for your help R. Ortiz
Old 04-28-2011, 04:52 PM
CK1
My Feedback: (60)

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts