Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

CNC machine for hobby use?

Old 10-25-2011, 05:47 PM
KC10Chief

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CNC machine for hobby use?

I'm interested in a CNC machine. I did a little reading on here and the rest of the interbuttz. I'd like one for cutting out ribs and formers. I don't need to cut any kind of 3D parts. I have no experience with any kind of CAD program or anything but I can learn. I've seen CNC machines on the internet. You can buy them ready made or build it yourself. I'd kind of like to build it myself. If I could have a 2'x4' cutting area, that would be great! What are you guys using? Any recommendations? I'd like to spend less than $2,500 all together.
Old 10-26-2011, 09:44 AM
catspaw

Default RE: CNC machine for hobby use?

You'll have to look into costs of the parts a lot. Does the design use belts with drawer slides or rod slides to move the cutter, or ballscrews? I'm not talking about regular threaded rod, that's not very good. For a 2'x4' size, you are looking at a pretty penny if it uses ball screws on a 4' length. We don't need a lot of precision for this hobby, so belt drive on a sliding rod system could work, but there needs to be a method of backlash control, and how do you support the long rods to prevent sagging on the long lengths?
How much will it cost to build the controller? does it include everything if it's a kit? the steppers (motors)?
Is there a clear path from programming the part to posting the cutting program in a way that the controller will understand without any hand coding? In other words, how do you get the .DXF file translated to a toolpath that will run on your controllers? This is a software issue for the most part.