Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Interesting thread, should be here. >

Interesting thread, should be here.

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Interesting thread, should be here.

Old 04-19-2002, 10:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interesting thread, should be here.

There is an interesting thread going on in the kit building topic that evolved into a scratchbuilding discussion...thought it may be of some interest here.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...30&forumid=107]
Old 04-24-2002, 09:38 PM

You guys might throw me out of here, but the above mentioned thread was really interesting to me. I've been designing and scratchbuilding my own planes for the last 4 years (over 200 now). The only thing is, I'm using all plastic, and materials you can't even find in a hobby store. Something like this costs about $5 and 3-4 hours to build, and will hold it's own and outlast anything on the market.

Or with a little more time and effort ($18 and 20 hours)

There are some more unbelievable examples here:

http://www.spadtothebone.com/Showcase.html

Once we learned that Air Core made their airplanes out of Coroplast, which is simlply sign board available at any sign supply shop...the sky became the limit, and it is truely a low budget designer and scratchbuilder's dream.

Also, all our plans are free at http://www.spadtothebone.com
Old 04-25-2002, 02:55 AM
My Feedback: (2)

Your Simple Plastic Airplane Designed planes are also excelent for Combat I hear Tattoo! They are cheap to make, cheap to fix, and hold up. I want build one over the summer.... we'll see what happens though. Tattoo, I appreciate what you do for all of the SPAD builders. A+ to www.spadtothebone.com

-Brian
Old 04-25-2002, 09:59 AM