Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Big Stik 60 - Practical Modifications

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Big Stik 60 - Practical Modifications

Old 05-23-2021, 11:43 PM
erans

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Big Stik 60 - Practical Modifications

I recently completed the scratch built of a Big Stik 60, and thought that some of the modifications I made will be of interest to others.
Now that my aeroplane has completed 10 flight, I can genuinely say that it is up there as the of the most fun aeroplanes I have ever flown (and I have been doing this since 1987).

The plans I used were a free download of plans "Big_Stik_60_oz11467" available here
https://outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=11467
This version of the "Stik" is Don Anderson's plan for the kit by Great Planes.

The main structural change that I made was to the way the wing attaches to the fuselage. The plans illustrates a four bolt attachment setup. The later ARF versions by Great Planes used the center rib W1 with a protruding "tab", modified to fit a slot in the fuselage former F2. I copied this concept as it is very practical. As seen in the last photo, former F2 was reinforced in the back (this is what the clamps are holding in the fuel tank bay) to spread the loads.
To establish the height for the modified W1 extended tab, I made a small jig as seen in the photos and attached it to the original Balsa W1. The new W1 was made out of Birch Plywood to take the loads. While I was re-cutting W1, I eliminated the recess for the center mounted servo.

More in the next post,
Cheers,
Eran

Last edited by erans; 05-23-2021 at 11:47 PM.
Old 05-23-2021, 11:50 PM
erans