Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

How practical a test of a "Jetoptera" Fluidic Propulsion RC scaled

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

How practical a test of a "Jetoptera" Fluidic Propulsion RC scaled

Old 05-30-2021, 10:12 AM
critx
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How practical a test of a "Jetoptera" Fluidic Propulsion RC scaled

Hello,
I'm not active on the forums, but I do follow new posts . I'm building balsa planes my own.

I've been reading about "Jetoptera" design and seem interesting. Coanda effect, augmented thrust and other interesting stuff...
I'm no expert in fluid flow science but willing to test some ideas.
There's a first simple question for more experienced once - will this make sense trying?

A main concern to me is the air comming from a fan loosing a lot of energy/speed in the ducts to the output slits.
I've thinking of using a centrifugal fan - this also need expert confirmation. To me a big diameter centrifuge would be better than an EDF. The power plant would be an electric outrunner 3S/4S 40A.
As a start idea I'm thinking of bench-testing it first see the output power then integrate a big diameter centrifugal fan inside a fuselage then direct the airflow to one augmented exhaust.
There would be other question - what size for the slits?

Hope for some answers/ideas...
Old 05-31-2021, 06:52 AM
allanflowers

Received 41 Likes on 31 Posts