Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Lead wires for mass balance of ailerons

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Lead wires for mass balance of ailerons

Old 05-17-2022, 04:25 AM
  #1  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lead wires for mass balance of ailerons

Hi everyone! My name is Takeshi Go Ito.
I am new here, so good to see you.

I am currently building an RC model aircraft based on Mr Andy Lennon's design, Gull Sport, that I have found on the website "OUTER NONE".


On the plan, Gull_Sport_oz11419.pdf - page 2, he gives instructions that the aileron needs 1/8" diameter - 5 and 1/2" long lead wires for mass balance.

However, on the right-down side of page 2, it seems the lead wire was applied on the wing tip side of the ailerons only.

Should I put the lead wire only the half-length of the aileron or apply it onto the full length of the aileron?

May be I have not understood the drawings correctly.

Please give me the answers about my question when you have enough time.
I would be quite happy if some members answered.

Cheers,
Takeshi



Old 05-21-2022, 02:11 AM
  #2  
carlgrover
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Don't put the lead on the full length. It is 5 1/2" long and goes from the far end of the aileron in. If you did go full length, it might be too heavy and overbalance the aileron. From what I'm seeing, the lead is about half as long as the aileron.

carl
The following users liked this post:
GO-ITO (05-21-2022)
Old 05-21-2022, 02:44 AM
  #3  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Re2 : Lead wires for mass balance of ailerons

Dear Carl

Thank you so much for taking your time and read the PDF drawings.
I have not saw the plan carefully. I realized that the length of the aileron is about 11".
So the lead wire must be the half length of the ailerons.

"Don't put the lead on the full length. It is 5 1/2" long and goes from the far end of the aileron in. If you did go full length, it might be too heavy and overbalance the aileron. From what I'm seeing, the lead is about halfas long as the aileron.

carl"

Then another question. Why did the designer put the wire on the far end of the aileron?
Because flutter is more likely to occur at the wingtip?

Please give me a reply when you have plenty of time.

p.s. Let me show you some photos of the wing with ailerons and flaps under construction.








Old 05-21-2022, 04:56 AM
  #4  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,527
Received 177 Likes on 152 Posts
Default

I would not balance the ailerons ( or any control surface for that matter ) at all. With the servos that are available today there is absolutely no need and the heavier surfaces only add weight.
The following users liked this post:
GO-ITO (05-21-2022)
Old 05-21-2022, 06:03 AM
  #5  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Dear speedracerntrixie

Thank you for another informative comment.
I have very little experience about building and flying R/C planes.

I am going to use 4 MG90S micro servos for the ailerons and flaps.
Does it sound all right for you?

This is my first R/C model airplane that has ailerons and flaps.
I only know about some rudder type ( i.e. 3 channels only) models.

Please reply again when you are free.

Cheers.

GO-Ito of Japan.

Old 05-21-2022, 06:05 AM
  #6  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Dear Carl

I tried to attach some photos, but I could not.
When I make enough posts, I will show the photos.

Cheers,

GO-Ito
Old 05-21-2022, 06:19 AM
  #7  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,527
Received 177 Likes on 152 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GO-ITO
Dear speedracerntrixie

Thank you for another informative comment.
I have very little experience about building and flying R/C planes.

I am going to use 4 MG90S micro servos for the ailerons and flaps.
Does it sound all right for you?

This is my first R/C model airplane that has ailerons and flaps.
I only know about some rudder type ( i.e. 3 channels only) models.

Please reply again when you are free.

Cheers.

GO-Ito of Japan.
Check the specifications of the servos. You will want servos that have between 50oz and 70 oz of torque. Run one servo per aileron and flap. Mounted in the wing.
The following users liked this post:
GO-ITO (05-21-2022)
Old 05-21-2022, 11:23 AM
  #8  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi speedracerntrixie!

Thanks again. The followings are the spec. of the servo, MG90S.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MG90S servo, Metal gear with one bearing
• Weight: 13.4 g
• Dimension: 22.5 x 12 x 35.5
Stall torque: 1.8 kgfcm (4.8V ), 2.2 kgfcm (6 V)
1.8 - 2.2 kg = 63.5 - 77.6oz
• Operating speed: 0.1 s/60 degree(4.8 V) , 0.08 s/60 degree (6 V)
• Operating voltage: 4.8 V -
• Dead band width: 5 s
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes, I will use one servo for one aileron/flap.
It would work nicely, I guess.

My first thought was put one servo at the center of the wing to operate two ailerons for minimizing the weight of the wing.
But the linkages would be so complicated and maintenance would also be tricky.
So I have chosen the conventional and simple way like you suggested, run one servo per aileron and flap.

Cheers,
GO-Ito

p.s. I visited Oregon state a long time ago. I would like to go there once again! It is a really nice place.
Old 05-22-2022, 12:57 AM
  #9  
RBACONS
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 642
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

You might have done your kgs to oz-in conversion incorrectly. The servo specs list:
  • Torque: 4.8V: 30.60 oz-in (2.20 kg-cm)
  • 6.0V: 34.70 oz-in (2.50 kg-cm)
The following users liked this post:
GO-ITO (05-22-2022)
Old 05-22-2022, 02:21 AM
  #10  
GO-ITO
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Aichi pref. Japan
Posts: 6
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

Originally Posted by RBACONS
You might have done your kgs to oz-in conversion incorrectly. The servo specs list:
  • Torque: 4.8V: 30.60 oz-in (2.20 kg-cm)
  • 6.0V: 34.70 oz-in (2.50 kg-cm)
Dear RBACONS

Thank you so much! I made silly mistake. I did not think about the length of the power (weight) works.
I had to consider the difference between cm and inch!

So the servo, MG90S, would not be powerful enough. Mmmm.
I will find more suitable servo.

Cheers,
GO

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.