Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

TurboCad 10 or 11

Old 10-22-2005, 12:44 AM
  #1  
KrisG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TurboCad 10 or 11

Hi all,

My DesignCad 2000 does not want to install on my new laptop with Windows XP, so I have to shop for a different budget CAD system.

Is there an important difference for us between Version 10 or 11? My goal is only to make 2D airplane plans. The special 3D options are of little interest to me.

Does the V 10 run well on Windows XP?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Kris G
Old 10-22-2005, 09:35 AM
  #2  
CoosBayLumber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: TurboCad 10 or 11

You must be installing DesignCAD wrong somehow. Currently have friend with DesignCAD 2000 and DesignCAD 3000 installed on on a Windows 95 system and a Windows XP system. Your troubles with installation are best handled at one of the ComputerBased forums all across the internet. Some of the poor installation problems are Windows protection based issues, nothing to do with the software. I use Computing.Net on occasion to resolve hardware problems.

If you are familiar with a CAD system, learn it, stick with it. Afterwhich go on to another brand of software.

Wm.
Old 10-23-2005, 02:16 AM
  #3  
BMatthews
 
BMatthews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12,406
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: TurboCad 10 or 11

If you do end up going for Turbocad then either will do fine for 2D. In fact if you find a cheap copy of Ver 7 you'll still have all you need for 2D. 9 and up are all about 3D improvements.
Old 10-23-2005, 02:25 AM
  #4  
KrisG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TurboCad 10 or 11

Thanks for the replies.

When installing, the software gave an error message when copying the files. I think I will go for the last TurboCad V10 copy that is in the shop, if it will do all I need for regular 2D drafting.

Thanks again.

Kris
Old 10-23-2005, 05:19 AM
  #5  
RH1N0
Member
 
RH1N0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: TurboCad 10 or 11

I use TurboCad 6 and have no problems creating 2D model plans. I find that the capabilities of the software are less important then your capability to use the software. In other words, the software is only as good as the user and you will get better with regular practise.

About the only feature I am missing with TurboCad 6 is the ability to import coordinates from an external file (available in the pro version) as this would make it a lot easier to draw airfoils and ribs. Particularly when the root and tip airfoil are different.

Just my $0.02
Old 10-23-2005, 02:53 PM
  #6  
BMatthews
 
BMatthews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
Posts: 12,406
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: TurboCad 10 or 11

That's where I liked the Version 7. Even with the budget version it came with support for many more import options and save options than my previous ver5.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.