Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Kit Cutting?

Old 01-25-2002, 04:34 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kit Cutting?

Out of all the available options (die cutting, laser cutting, CNC Router cutting) whis gives better quality? i have access to a CNC overhead router table at school, but if thats a really bad way to do this i would like to know.
thanks in advance

rob o'
Old 01-25-2002, 04:57 AM
  #2  
My Feedback: (1)
 
mselby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 483
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kit Cutting?

CNC routers usually give good results. You need to choose the right bit and speed. I usually use between a .8 and a 1.2 mm bit, 4 flute type. Be careful not to cut too deep in one pass. test to see how many passes you need at a reasonable depth to get a clean cut.
Mike
Old 01-25-2002, 12:02 PM
  #3  
MTT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
MTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Chester, OH
Posts: 566
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Kit cutting

I would say that laser cutting is the most exact, closely followed by CNC-routing. With die cutting it depends very much of the age and quality of the dies, to the extreme, that when the dies are old and not so sharp anymore, people start talking about "die-crushing"
So go ahead with the CNC-router at your school !

Michael
Old 01-26-2002, 04:51 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location:
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kit Cutting?

If you have already got your plans in CAD format, send em my way... I will cut them out for you with a laser. Less headache for you.

Jesse
Old 02-01-2002, 04:15 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kit Cutting?

i appreciate the offer, but i think i'm going to use the CNC @ my school, i'll be able to get a grade for it which will be nice. i will keep your company in mind for future designs. thanks

rob o'
Old 02-01-2002, 03:44 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Kit Cutting?

My thought is to stick to something you know and are comfortable with. It may be slower, but it is always faster to be able to manipulate the finished product as it is being cut so to fix an error that you hadn't seen until just a moment before.

This allows you to build a portion of an A/C, see how it fits, if your principles are correct, then continue. If everything is close enough you can do a few more parts, glue them up or throw them away, and do the same tomorrow with new dimensions. Better than sending a disk and a box of wood across the nation and "Hoping" they will fit upon return.

Supposing you needed to add or trim off about 1/32 from the ends of certain ribs? Can't do that via long distance. Your system in your circumstances was initially correct.


Wm.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.