Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Newbie to Scratch Build

Old 10-03-2006, 09:20 AM
edmundp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to Scratch Build

Hi Guys,

As I am relatively new to the hobby and to building I was wondering if any of you will be able to assist me:

I am looking to start building model aircraft from scratch but have no idea how or where to start. I realize that it would be easier to buy a RTF or ARF kit (already have one), but I believe that a great deal of fun lies in constructing the actual aircraft yourself.

I was looking for the something like this:

- Free detailed plan (not schematic) to build an electric aircraft (inclusive of detailed instructions)
- Nothing to complicated - I am very skilled in all things practical, but just want to see if I will manage first.
- Something for a beginner
- Electric

Also important is that I am living in South Africa currently and therefore find it hard to come by what I am looking for. Obviously I don't wan't to invest to much cash into something that might be a huge disaster.

Will anybody be able to help??? Any suggestions???

Thanks already!
Old 10-03-2006, 09:35 AM
Dr1Driver

Default RE: Newbie to Scratch Build

If you haven't built a couple of wood kits, I don't recommend scratch building until you do.

Reading plans and following instructions ( if any), making a BOM, and cutting wood are all skills you need before you attempt scratch building.

Get a simple kit of the type of plane you want to scratch, and start from there.

Dr.1
Old 10-03-2006, 12:18 PM
greenskintau

I am in exactly the same situation as you, except about 3 weeks in :P.

I too am designing my first RC aircraft, and a few people here have helped me along the way. I shall attempt to give you an abreviated form of what I have learned.